Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Picked up an ECX Circuit. What now? >

Picked up an ECX Circuit. What now?

Picked up an ECX Circuit. What now?

Old 12-02-2019, 04:57 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Picked up an ECX Circuit. What now?

Hi, everyone. I found a $3.00 EXC Circuit at the thrift store today. It does not have a controller or battery charger.

I'm new at this, and I'm not sure what to do next.

Online, I've seen both the Spektrum DX2E and the Spektrum STX2 as the controller for this car. Are they both compatible? Is one controller preferable over the other?

Also, I read on this forum that the Circuit has been released in different versions over the years. How can I know which version I have? Or does it matter?

Thanks, everyone!
Old 12-02-2019, 05:29 PM
Tech Rookie

Oh, I can add that I think this is the 2WD model. The blue and silver "stadium truck".

Last edited by NewAtRC; 12-02-2019 at 05:51 PM.
Old 12-03-2019, 05:35 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

One of those transmitters is a stick type, the other is a pistol. Get what you feel comfortable with. Battery, charger, and run it.
Old 12-03-2019, 02:43 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Thats incorrect. The stx2 is a pistol. Stx isnt an acronym...🙄
anyways, seems like the stx has a bit more settings available than the other. Probably a bit better radio.
Personally I would dump the Spektrum stuff and just go get a Flysky gtb3. It comes with a reciever. Its a really good starter radio. You'll get epa's and other settings that the stx and dxr wont have. Its like 40 bucks. Somewhere around there. Very very good value. As far as starting off with your rc, do you even know if the electronics work? Who knows why that thing was sitting on the shelf? I would bench test everything before you spend anything.
Old 12-03-2019, 05:39 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Oops, so the STX is a pistol. It looks terrible. Lol.