Connector (esc to battery) question >

Connector (esc to battery) question

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By DarthDad

Connector (esc to battery) question

Old 09-08-2019, 08:14 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Connector (esc to battery) question

I've tried looking around and I've confused myself with what I've read (not that it takes much!)

I currently have a stock 2wd slash I race in stock class. 2s LiPo 50C 5000Mah batteries. My deans ultras (I think I got some cheap knock offs not knowing better at the time 4 years ago) are no longer staying connected. Tried to adjust, but only lasts a short time. Dead truck in the middle of 2 of my 3 heats last week ruined my night, so time to replace.

Also, within the next few months I will be buying a 2wd buggy that will be brushless to race as well.

What plug would be good for both applications? I have no real soldering experience either.
  • Deans
  • Powerpoles (like the idea of no soldering, but read about size issues? Probably not an issue in my Slash, but maybe the buggy?)
  • EC3 or EC5?
  • XT60 or XT 90?
  • Other?
Thanks!
Old 09-08-2019, 08:22 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

I’ve not raced off road. My on road are mostly deans or bullet direct to battery. My one race buggy is direct to battery.

Most of my big, 6s stuff uses Ec5. Never had one come loose.
Old 09-08-2019, 11:17 AM
Tech Master

I use deans everywhere, because they are relatively easy to solder,and have polarity protection, but yes they do tend to come loose, esp. knockoff ones. I try my best to route my wiring in such a way that crashes and jumps force it to stay on, but this is not always possible. Try and zip tie down the wires so they don't work loose.

I've tried xt30 before, which is the smaller version of xt60. They definitely feel like they won't come apart, but are trickier to solder and are heavier/bulkier than their deans equivalent. Think carefully about wire length and where to zip tie it down.