R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-05-2006, 09:51 AM   #1
sml
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default Novak Smart Tray Problem

When I put my GP3300 packs in the Novak smart tray and press the button, all 6 of the lights go out within ~2 minutes and the pack never goes below 6.7V and rebounds very quickly once off (w/in ~1 min its back to 7.5V). Anyone have any ideas?
sml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 10:17 AM   #2
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 85
Default

Just my guess....

Is it set to go off at that voltage. Try pushing the button and resetting the voltage to .9v.
fyredup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 11:19 AM   #3
sml
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default smart tray

yes its set at 0.9V/cell
sml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 12:11 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,480
Default

first you should discharge you packs. the tray really is used for equilizing not discharging`
__________________
Kyosho / Team Orion / AKA / JTP / Sharkbait Designworks / RC Tracks of Las Vegas
Chris Jarosz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 01:30 PM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcdude19641
first you should discharge you packs. the tray really is used for equilizing not discharging`
Yes this is true....I would discharge completey by either using my charger or just dumping down in the car then I would tray them. Then I would tray them once more prior to charging them.
fyredup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 12:22 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
DP-buggyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I had mine "false cutoff" while I was using the included AC adapter. I switched over to the DC plug and clipped it onto my charger's 12V power supply and haven't had a problem since. I'm guessing the included AC adapter is junk and doesn't have the cleanest output voltage. Enough ripple in the power supply of a device that constantly monitors voltage makes it not work right.
__________________
Damon Palm's 2011 Race Rigs (the ones that have all the guts in them):
Thump RC 4 stroke "GSC10"
X-Factory X-6 Squared
Traxxas Slash w/ STRC LCG conversion
THUMP RC -The only 4 stroke race conversion-
DP-buggyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 12:45 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
WisRacr1's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DP-buggyboy
I had mine "false cutoff" while I was using the included AC adapter. I switched over to the DC plug and clipped it onto my charger's 12V power supply and haven't had a problem since. I'm guessing the included AC adapter is junk and doesn't have the cleanest output voltage. Enough ripple in the power supply of a device that constantly monitors voltage makes it not work right.
I second that
WisRacr1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 04:23 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Capelracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bunbury, West Oz
Posts: 339
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Suggestion - if the AC adaptor is 9V negative tip it can be replaced by ones made by Boss or Digitech for electric guitar effects pedals - I work in music instrument retail, and we get people all the time who would rather buy an adaptor for half the price at "Dodgy Dirt Cheap Electronics" up the street - then bring them to us because their effects pedal crackles, pops, farts & generally sound terrible all because of a cheap adaptor.

AC adaptors are NOT created equal - thought Novak would have been onto that though.
Capelracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 04:28 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

get a teamwave lightning. its da best!
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak Smart Tray SE 4510 Problem Jamie007 Electric On-Road 7 01-18-2008 10:54 AM
JR R1, Novak Smart Tray, Novak GTX, Futaba S9451, Hellfire stock motors, plus more yauipop Australia For Sale/Trade 7 08-27-2007 03:56 AM
Integy Zero-Thirty Tray, Novak Smart Tray domo Australia For Sale/Trade 9 07-29-2006 05:34 AM
Novak smart tray and trinity 2.5 tray joerocket900 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-12-2005 10:52 PM
Trinity absolute zero tray/ novak smart tray ALL APPROVED R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 10-14-2005 07:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:48 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net