Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
1st time kit project! >

1st time kit project!

1st time kit project!

Old 05-26-2019, 04:38 AM
Tech Rookie

Default 1st time kit project!

Mechanical/electronic engineer by trade however all my RCís have been RTR yet I still strip and rebuild them haha so Iím quite technically minded and able but these kits are a totally new territory for me.

Feel itís about time I get a real project on the go.

Have been looking at 1/10 truggys mainly the ET410 however the new X-Ray XT4 sounds promising.

Just after some general advice on ease of working on, after market part availability, cost of parts/running, and generally which ones better/easier to tweak and have fun with.

I have no plans of competing just having fun and building something quite serious and most likely over powered

Also Iíve only ever ran stock transmitter/receiver so Iím totally new to that area and initial looks seem these can be more costly then the cars themselves!

Another area is I know Iím looking at 1/10 but would most likely try to run a 1/8 motor/ESC set up as my other RC (E-Revo) runs that and so will another car Iím picking up soon.

Thoughts and opinions welcome

Old 05-26-2019, 02:03 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Good luck on finding parts for an XRAY. Get an 8th scale for some serious fun. I have a Losi 8E and put a set of Badland tires on it, with Tekin RX8 ESC and T8 1700 motor. This thing flies and can easily handle backyard grass. Look at Tekno for serious basher duty.
Old 05-26-2019, 02:42 PM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Tekno kits are a joy to build. Fit and quality are great. The ET410 was my last build and I highly recommend it.
Old 05-26-2019, 05:06 PM
Tech Adept