Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Team Associated SC6.1 >

Team Associated SC6.1

Like Tree162Likes

Team Associated SC6.1

Reply

Old 04-15-2018, 09:02 AM
  #46  
mes
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,384
Default

Yes, and the listed Method wheels are shown as compatible with the ProSC10, Trophy Rat etc. Are these the same off-set as the +3 mm used on the SC10 and SC5M?
mes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 09:18 AM
  #47  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
RazorRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 558
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Losi wheels are not the same as standard SC10/SC5M wheels even though they are referred to as 0 offset. They’re not the same as +3 either.

The Method wheels are standard SC10/SC5M offset, not +3.
RazorRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 10:32 AM
  #48  
Suspended
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 786
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Razor, do the Losi offset wheels make an SC5m too wide to be legal? Do they make an SC5m significantly narrower? Or do they fall in somewhere between a Method and a +3?
I'm pretty sure losi offset wheels will work.
urnotevenwrg2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 10:35 AM
  #49  
Suspended
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 786
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Especially when you consider that you can change the hexes out too. In other words, if you have a big collection of losi offset wheels, you can make them work.
urnotevenwrg2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 01:37 PM
  #50  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
RazorRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 558
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

F'in forum software!

Losi wheels are narrower (deeper inset). I just measured some wheels:

Losi I'm measuring at 34mm from inner edge of wheel to hex.
SC5M (Method wheels) I'm measuring at 33mm.
SC5m +3 wheels should be at 30mm.

If you could space Losi wheels out 1mm, they'd be the same as stock SC5M. But you'd still want to go another 3mm to get the normal +3 race setup. You might run out of axle threads, and not sure how you would do the SC6.1 if it uses solid hex axles up front like the B6/B6.1.
mes likes this.
RazorRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 11:39 PM
  #51  
mes
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,384
Default

As long as rhe thread is long enough and the hex is not too shallow, you could add a 1 mm wheel spacer in the front, either a simple shim or the fancy carbon fiber hexes available from Avid:
https://www.avidrc.com/product/5/acc...cessories.html
mes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 11:50 AM
  #52  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 198
Default

Maybe I missed it SC6.1 wheels. Does it use the SC5M +3, or a Zero offset wheel? I wish they were all standardized.
sea1swk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 04:05 AM
  #53  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
celt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 2,497
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I figure eleven parts are needed aside from what's on my B6.1 to have an SC6.1...not that many. Those parts should be in stock soon.
celt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 12:00 PM
  #54  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 198
Default

Originally Posted by celt View Post
I figure eleven parts are needed aside from what's on my B6.1 to have an SC6.1...not that many. Those parts should be in stock soon.
Interesting. If it is not that much, would be tempted.
sea1swk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 01:42 PM
  #55  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (83)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,262
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sea1swk View Post
Interesting. If it is not that much, would be tempted.
It is more. And some of the parts are pricey. Just get the new truck and be done.
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 03:31 PM
  #56  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Deep South Texas
Posts: 1,310
Default

,
being my SC5M is 6 months old.... and I am winning races...... I will wait...

14 races,,,,,, 7 'A' main wins and 2 seconds .... 17.5 class.. and NO DNF's

I do need a new motor... mine is a gen 1 Tekin... what 9-10 years old.
chuck_thehammer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 04:18 PM
  #57  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 198
Default

My issues with the SC5M, and T5M. Front end gets loose fairly quickly from normal racing, as in slop. Needs a lay down setup for high bite. Always hated that the "hard" arms break easily, where the non-Hard arms are very durable. Would like more adjustments for items like shock location, sway bars, droop. So it is not the old trucks are bad, but it is time for new. Just wish they were out before the jconcepts race. You race 17.5 Shortcourse? That is the lamest class. So sorry. We run 13.5. So much more fun.
sea1swk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 04:50 PM
  #58  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Deep South Texas
Posts: 1,310
Default

17.5 shortcourse... is the largest class.. 30 to 40 trucks every week...

One lap is 50 seconds.... I average 46 seconds per lap... so I can keep up with the 13.5 trucks easy.
as its NOT about speed... its the turning and braking that counts.
21 jumps, 1 tabletop, 12 hair pin turns.. 2 sweepers... 3 of the jumps are doubles..
fyi.. the 10.5 guys are turning 44 seconds... and there are 12 trucks..

so Lamest is your opinion.... skill is better..
want lame... run 1/4 scale banked blacktop GAS... 3,000 dollar RC car ..and tires are $50 each..
50 mph real speed with a 30 pound RC Car... banked oval... 10 car field..
.


go look and see.
.a couple times a year.. they have the 500... Lap.. using quick refueling...tire changes...etc.
so.. that driving an rc car over 1 hour nonstop... and need a pit man...

Take your "Lame" with you....
27 years of RC car racing.....
.

.

Last edited by chuck_thehammer; 04-25-2018 at 05:37 PM.
chuck_thehammer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 06:45 PM
  #59  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Big_Show's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 319
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Chuck where do you race at?
Big_Show is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 01:54 AM
  #60  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Finland
Posts: 937
Default

Chuck, sure the 17.5 can keep up with 13.5 if the 17.5 driver is better than the 13.5 driver. Better driver will be faster with 13.5 than 17.5 unless there are absolutely zero spots where you can go beyond the 17.5's top speeds. I don't think that's true with 99,9% of tracks out there. But assuming you were racing with a 17.5 against those 13.5s of course there's no need to upgrade to 13.5 if the other drivers are so much worse as to not be able to make use of that faster speed potential.

And I personally do find 17.5 to be sluggish-feeling for offroad racing, but then I did start the hobby at mod speeds off the bat (no stock offroad classes here). Even the 13.5 stock motor felt just a touch too slow with the SC5M's stock gearing indoors, outdoors it feels even slower - normally I use 7.5t there. Next indoor season I'll try with faster gearing with the 13.5, I just hope I don't run into heat issues.

At any rate I'll state (once again) that I'm not a good driver myself, and while I'm not a "top speed nut" (like I really don't see the point of 50+ mph bashers driving in a straight line) the more powerful motor can make driving more fun at the track, even if the effect on lap speeds isn't that much with my driving. Just like the fastest way of getting a 4WD SCT around my local track isn't the same as the most fun way for me - the latter involves just about zero braking.
tvih is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service