R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road-4/)
-   -   Ok now what?? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road/101050-ok-now-what.html)

GIGEMAGS1155 02-07-2006 08:27 PM

Ok now what??

Ok I am new to the world of RC and I bought a gently used Ofna Ultra LX Comp RTR... I know this isn't what most would suggest but I wanted to get into the hobby and upgrade as I go and upgrade cars once I am able to outperform this one. What kind of upgrades should I look into first on this one. It has a servo saver and new drive shaft upgrade but other than that it is pretty much stock... So what shall I look for next?

xrcbuggy 02-07-2006 08:44 PM

Originally Posted by GIGEMAGS1155
Ok I am new to the world of RC and I bought a gently used Ofna Ultra LX Comp RTR... I know this isn't what most would suggest but I wanted to get into the hobby and upgrade as I go and upgrade cars once I am able to outperform this one. What kind of upgrades should I look into first on this one. It has a servo saver and new drive shaft upgrade but other than that it is pretty much stock... So what shall I look for next?

Keep it that way (stock), have fun with it & save money for a racer like mp777 sp2 or hyper 7 pro.

SpeedBump57 02-07-2006 10:06 PM

xrcbuggy gave good advice, keep the car stock. Learn the in's & out's of the car first. Learn how to maintain the car and keep it in good shape. If after a while you still maintain an interest in the hobby then move up to a different car. You will be money ahead this way and better prepared for a race worthy car.

windellmc 02-08-2006 06:35 AM

If you want to spend some money on it get good servos that you can use on your next buggy and a good radio. Next get a good engine if you do not already have one and a good starter box.

Cain 02-08-2006 07:10 AM

I agree, get things that can easily transfer to another car if you plan to upgrade like the following: