four wheel to two

Old 05-03-2021, 06:08 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Augusta Maine
Posts: 4
Default four wheel to two

Any know if I could covert my blackout sc truck to two wheel from 4 wheel to run on dirt oval
BigRich is offline  
Old 05-03-2021, 07:08 AM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Idaho
Posts: 654
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

It's possible, but generally, the geometry is significantly different in the front end and the conversions in that direction don't work too well.
Silverbullet555 is offline  
Old 05-04-2021, 10:14 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
 
the rc guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,662
Default

Big it can be done.. Id actually go with front wheel drive. lock main diff .remove rear drive shaft and wheel dogbones...I kinda like the way a rc truck would pull outa a turn.make sure ur track will allow fwd or just do rear.
the rc guy is offline  
Old 05-04-2021, 05:53 PM
  #4  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Augusta Maine
Posts: 4
Default

thanks a bunch to buy a ready to run is out of my budget lol. too expensive so if I can use my blackout chasis would be cheaper
Richard
BigRich is offline  
Old 05-04-2021, 05:55 PM
  #5  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Augusta Maine
Posts: 4
Default

thank you very much a lot to consider
Richard
BigRich is offline  
Old 05-05-2021, 01:52 AM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
fyrstormer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Virginia, Near DC, USA
Posts: 6,725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You can simply disconnect one of the axles, but that won't change the weight balance or suspension geometry to optimize the truck for running with only two powered wheels. Those differences are the reason why separate 4WD and 2WD chassis exist.
fyrstormer is offline  
Old 05-05-2021, 04:36 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
 
the rc guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,662
Default

You cant just remove the front drive shaft you will need to lock the main diff b4 you run it.
the rc guy is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:
You have already rated this thread Rating: Thread Rating: 0 votes,  average.

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.