R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Crawler Room (https://www.rctech.net/forum/crawler-room-151/)
-   -   Noob Crawler (https://www.rctech.net/forum/crawler-room/970972-noob-crawler.html)

wrenchdoctor 12-13-2016 10:54 AM

Noob Crawler

Greetings,
I have been dispatched by a couple friends to track down a good crawler for a complete beginner with no RC experience or support equipment. I don't know anything about these things, and dont really care to learn as they dont interest me in the least. I do however want to be able to give good advice. So I feel like if anyone can, it would be you guys who can provide good advise and a clear direction on what to look at and i can steal these ideas and look like the smart one :lol::sneaky::cool:

I would also like to know what to steer clear of (i hear some mixed feelings on Axial?). I dont want these guys to get frustrated with constant repairs because i turned them onto a money pit. I suspect a budget of $600 or under for the rig. RTR would be great. I told them to have a look at gmade and rc4wd to start with and I will report back with my findings. Thanks in advance.

hotrod87 12-14-2016 06:16 PM

Best bang for the crawler buck. Losi nightcrawler. $299 rtr. This is a true crawler not a scaler. For a scaler or rock racer axial is king. Wraith is my favorite all around do all be all rig.

lolagt 12-21-2016 07:17 AM

Anything Axial RTR is mostly plastic break down over and over type of stuff.
They are awesome, once you sink another couple hundred in to them. They would push one right to that budget limit, and still not be a true crawler. Most of that stuff is scale and trail, or rock racer-rish. (I'm not a Ax fan)

Definitely not a new crawler guy friendly experience.