Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Crawler Room
Official Axial SCX10 thread >

Official Axial SCX10 thread

Official Axial SCX10 thread

Old 10-01-2011, 11:30 AM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 52
Default Official Axial SCX10 thread

Other secions have official threads, who not the Crawler secion. Maybe it'll cut down on repeat threads too

So pictures, questions, tips, dissussions, post here

My tip, if you're building the Trail Honcho kit, the ball joint AX80032 #1 (part #1 on the tree) is the same as AX80005 #1. The manual will refer to them as 80032 the whole time

Also, when filling the shocks, I put the shaft half way in, then filled with oil. Move up and down to remove air. When you're ready to top off the oil, push the shaft all the way in then fill the rest of the way. I found that if the shaft was all the way out when you put the cap on, then press the shaft it, it was hard to make it bottom it out, then it would push itself out

Lastly, be a little conservative with the grease, you don't get a lot for some reason. You hardly use the thread lock, the shock oil bottle is huge and you barely use any of that, but I want to grease the gears really well and I can't

Can't wait to finish it and run it
Armistice is offline  
Old 10-01-2011, 02:29 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (19)
 
scotty-j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: seminole, florida
Posts: 816
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Here's mine. its the Honcho just with the proline 72 Bronco body. No mods, just box stock and waterproof.



Last edited by scotty-j; 10-01-2011 at 04:34 PM.
scotty-j is offline  
Old 10-04-2011, 10:59 AM
  #3  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (29)
 
turbotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Katy, Tx..But from Riverside Cali
Posts: 378
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

If i want just a little bit more travel, what do you guys think? go with 100mm shocks? or run the ax10 shocks? im running 1.9s now, i have 2.2s as well but i dont really like them. i just want more flex
turbotron is offline  
Old 10-04-2011, 09:18 PM
  #4  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 52
Default

Yah, I need more in the front. Actually, I need to adjust the preload is all, woo!

Just finished putting in all the electrics tonight and took it for a test run. Not a lot of low end torque with the stock gearing, so may need to get a new spur and pinion

And the nylock comes off the slipper if you punch reverse too hard :P
Armistice is offline  
Old 10-04-2011, 10:21 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 513
Trader Rating: 22 (96%+)
Default

with the ax10 shock run the softest springs to get like a 30% droop
dezertranger96 is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 08:33 AM
  #6  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (29)
 
turbotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Katy, Tx..But from Riverside Cali
Posts: 378
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dezertranger96 View Post
with the ax10 shock run the softest springs to get like a 30% droop
hows the travel with these shocks? will i get a little more flex?
turbotron is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 10:45 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (29)
 
turbotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Katy, Tx..But from Riverside Cali
Posts: 378
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Well just ordered a set of brand new stock ax10 shocks off of ebay! Well
See how it turns out. If I don't like them I'll
Have them up for sale shortly after.
turbotron is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 01:04 AM
  #8  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (10)
 
waggaclint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by turbotron View Post
If i want just a little bit more travel, what do you guys think? go with 100mm shocks? or run the ax10 shocks? im running 1.9s now, i have 2.2s as well but i dont really like them. i just want more flex
Have you removed the bump stops from the stock shocks, as that will give a bit more flex...
waggaclint is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 11:39 AM
  #9  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (29)
 
turbotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Katy, Tx..But from Riverside Cali
Posts: 378
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by waggaclint View Post
Have you removed the bump stops from the stock shocks, as that will give a bit more flex...
have not done that yet
turbotron is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 03:10 PM
  #10  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
transambill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 373
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by turbotron View Post
If i want just a little bit more travel, what do you guys think? go with 100mm shocks? or run the ax10 shocks? im running 1.9s now, i have 2.2s as well but i dont really like them. i just want more flex
Are you still running the stock 3 link suspension? Changing to a 4 link front and rear will help with the flex and helps remove a lot of the torque twist as well.
transambill is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 03:24 PM
  #11  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
transambill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 373
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Armistice View Post
Other secions have official threads, who not the Crawler secion. Maybe it'll cut down on repeat threads too

So pictures, questions, tips, dissussions, post here

My tip, if you're building the Trail Honcho kit, the ball joint AX80032 #1 (part #1 on the tree) is the same as AX80005 #1. The manual will refer to them as 80032 the whole time

Also, when filling the shocks, I put the shaft half way in, then filled with oil. Move up and down to remove air. When you're ready to top off the oil, push the shaft all the way in then fill the rest of the way. I found that if the shaft was all the way out when you put the cap on, then press the shaft it, it was hard to make it bottom it out, then it would push itself out
If you scew down the cap as you slowly compress the shock you should be good to go. The shock shaft should only rebound a little over half way when your done.
Lastly, be a little conservative with the grease, you don't get a lot for some reason. You hardly use the thread lock, the shock oil bottle is huge and you barely use any of that, but I want to grease the gears really well and I can't
Pick up some Lucas Red and Tacky from Wal*mart or your local auto parts store for the axles and trans. Coat everything real good and if you plan on running in wet conditions, pack the trans and axle cases full of the red and tacky.

Can't wait to finish it and run it
The SCX10 is one of the best platforms to build on.
transambill is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 03:41 PM
  #12  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 52
Default

I'm having problems with the Nylock nut on the slipper. If put in a hard reverse, it backs the nut off. I've tightened the nut as much as I could, and still let the plates slip, but it'll still backs off. I really don't want to have to play Eye Spy looking for 2 washers, a nut, and a spring

Anyone else have problems with this?

Also, my front links barely hit the crossmember above it at full bump, or it barely hits the servo mounts if flexed all the way (one tire up, one down). Not a big concern(doesn't inhibit flexing), but was just a thought when someone mentioned taking out the bumpstops on the shaft. Some slight trimming may have to be done

Last edited by Armistice; 10-06-2011 at 10:58 PM. Reason: clearance question
Armistice is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 05:28 PM
  #13  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (29)
 
turbotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Katy, Tx..But from Riverside Cali
Posts: 378
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by transambill View Post
Are you still running the stock 3 link suspension? Changing to a 4 link front and rear will help with the flex and helps remove a lot of the torque twist as well.
i am running a 4 linked rear. i had no idea i could run a 4 link front? i have a hand bros servo mount so i thought that would get in the way? school me please i like what im hearing
turbotron is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 07:32 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 15 (94%+)
Default my honcho i was going to run 2.2 tires and deciding to stick with 1.9 to stay with

I was going to run 2.2 but decided to stayed with 1.9. For shocks ok going to get the aluminum stock shock bodies. I have a 27t HPI motor xl5 speedo. Havent put it on trail yet still adding and tuning.
crash18 is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 10:16 PM
  #15  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (29)
 
turbotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Katy, Tx..But from Riverside Cali
Posts: 378
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by crash18 View Post
I was going to run 2.2 but decided to stayed with 1.9. For shocks ok going to get the aluminum stock shock bodies. I have a 27t HPI motor xl5 speedo. Havent put it on trail yet still adding and tuning.
that sounds like a good set up! yeah i have both set ups. to tell you the truth the truck crawls so much smoother with the 2.2s. im running a tekin 45t and a tekin fxr esc.
turbotron is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:
You have already rated this thread Rating: Thread Rating: 0 votes,  average.

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.