Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Crawler Room
Spend MY $$$ !!! >

Spend MY $$$ !!!

Spend MY $$$ !!!

Old 03-13-2010, 08:40 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Space Coast of FL
Posts: 17
Default Spend MY $$$ !!!

If you could choose one radio over the other - Spektrum DX3E or DX3.0, which would you choose ? Cost not an issue...
To be used for an AXIAL SCX10 Honcho for fun... winch or rear steering might be added later - reason for 3rd ch...
Thank's Guy's !!
New2Crawl is offline  
Old 03-13-2010, 08:43 PM
  #2  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (11)
 
dustin keeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 201
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

dx3e. You cant run a winch in and out with a dx3.0 (its only a 2 pos 3rd) The dx3e has a 3position 3rd.
dustin keeler is offline  
Old 03-13-2010, 08:56 PM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Space Coast of FL
Posts: 17
Default

What about the desire to run multiple model's from one radio AND control a winch on the SCX10 ?
Thank's !
New2Crawl is offline  
Old 03-13-2010, 09:01 PM
  #4  
Tech Initiate
 
Eritex Inc.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Omaha
Posts: 34
Default

Originally Posted by New2Crawl View Post
What about the desire to run multiple model's from one radio AND control a winch on the SCX10 ?
Thank's !
For multiple model memory and 3 position 3rd channel, DX3R.
Eritex Inc. is offline  
Old 03-13-2010, 11:24 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
el_Fernando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Yay Area
Posts: 404
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Eritex Inc. View Post
For multiple model memory and 3 position 3rd channel, DX3R.
Doesn't the DX3.0 do 3 car memory as well?
el_Fernando is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 12:15 AM
  #6  
Tech Initiate
 
Eritex Inc.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Omaha
Posts: 34
Default

Originally Posted by el_Fernando View Post
Doesn't the DX3.0 do 3 car memory as well?
True, but the DX3.0 only has a 2 position 3rd channel switch which makes it worthless for running a winch.
Eritex Inc. is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 08:59 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
el_Fernando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Yay Area
Posts: 404
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Eritex Inc. View Post
True, but the DX3.0 only has a 2 position 3rd channel switch which makes it worthless for running a winch.
Oh that is good to know. If using it w/ a crawler and OTHER THAN using a winch do you need a 3rd channel? I'm going to get a Losi Mini crawler and I also have a Slash 2wd. I may also down the line run a 1/10 crawler like a Axial or Losi Comp
el_Fernando is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 01:24 PM
  #8  
Tech Initiate
 
Eritex Inc.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Omaha
Posts: 34
Default

Originally Posted by el_Fernando View Post
Oh that is good to know. If using it w/ a crawler and OTHER THAN using a winch do you need a 3rd channel? I'm going to get a Losi Mini crawler and I also have a Slash 2wd. I may also down the line run a 1/10 crawler like a Axial or Losi Comp
A third channel with 3 positions is used for several applications in crawling.

1. For 4wd-free wheel-dig while using a dig on a shaft driven crawler.

2. For front-rear dig on a MOA.

3. Rear wheel steering.

4. A winch down system.

5. Shifting gears in a scaler (For a Tamiya 3 speed trans).

6. I know there is more, I just can't think of any right now
Eritex Inc. is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 09:02 PM
  #9  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Space Coast of FL
Posts: 17
Default

Eritex Inc.,
Thank's for the technical info summation ! I see more folk's have benefited than just myself ! :-) Excellent - Forum's at their best !
Thank's again !
New2Crawl is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 09:40 PM
  #10  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
el_Fernando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Yay Area
Posts: 404
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by New2Crawl View Post
Eritex Inc.,
Thank's for the technical info summation ! I see more folk's have benefited than just myself ! :-) Excellent - Forum's at their best !
Thank's again !
You said it man. Crawling is crazy different than short course bashing!
el_Fernando is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 10:07 PM
  #11  
Tech Initiate
 
Eritex Inc.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Omaha
Posts: 34
Default

No problem guys, glad I could help.
Eritex Inc. is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 03:00 PM
  #12  
Tech Initiate
 
big rev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 21
Default CKRC HOBBIES

Dont order anything from ckrc hobbies. I tried to place an order today and the guy i talked to was totally rude and since i wasnt spending over 300.00 he wanted to rape me by charging 40.00 in shipping to send a venum crawler from nv. to ks.. I will be spending my money elseware. I HOPE they get there act to geather it would be nice to have shop options. sorry about the rant on your thread, but i was trying to save you from the rude sob that i tried to deal with.
big rev is offline  
Old 03-22-2010, 04:29 PM
  #13  
Tech Initiate
 
big rev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 21
Default venum crawler

I went to my local hobby shop an they treated me great, i will have my new creeper on wensday. I do like to give my buisness to local shops if at all possable. So i hope you get your crawler, i think its going to be a blast. I know it wont be long and i will be upgrading but thats half the fun of it.
big rev is offline  
Old 03-22-2010, 06:59 PM
  #14  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (53)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 617
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

if your are crafty with a soldering iron you can convert a dx3.0 to a 3 positon 3 channel. Im runnin a traxxas 2.4 ghz 4 channel. just have to add in some end points or sell the current radio and get the one with end points (I have no patience on waiting for out of stock items)
NorCalLump is offline  
Old 03-29-2010, 01:07 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Jstall7543's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Down Town Olympia
Posts: 3,106
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Weird, I've had no problems with Ckrc, I've placed a bunch of orders there. I also like the crawler store. He was probebly rude because you wanted a venom crawler! What did you want next day air? It's expensive!
Jstall7543 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:
You have already rated this thread Rating: Thread Rating: 0 votes,  average.

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.