Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Crawler Room
Vaterra Ascender F100 or Redcat Gen8 Scout 2? >

Vaterra Ascender F100 or Redcat Gen8 Scout 2?

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By TIME MACHINE
  • 1 Post By ASA
  • 1 Post By TIME MACHINE
  • 1 Post By freaksofnature

Vaterra Ascender F100 or Redcat Gen8 Scout 2?

Old 02-12-2019, 12:32 AM
ASA
Tech Adept

Default Vaterra Ascender F100 or Redcat Gen8 Scout 2?

I know there are hopups for each of these trucks and they both have their pros and cons.... but i am looking for bang for buck out of the box for the odd back yard crawl....they both look like pretty good rigs in stock form but which would you regular trail guys(im new to the crawling scene) think would be the go-to truck as far as performance, reliability and parts support be in the long run?.....cheers
Old 02-12-2019, 05:18 AM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)

In my humble opinion, the Gen 8 will be a much better performer out of the box. The Gen 8 is brand new, and should be supported for a long time to come. The original Ascender is getting old, so I'd be hesitant to jump on board this late in the game.

The Ascender uses a shorty pack, and that would be a deal breaker for me. You can upgrade the truck to accept a full size pack, so it's easily done if you wanted. The Ascender has quirks that would steer me away from it. The Gen 8 has portal axles, looks beautiful, and already has third party aftermarket support on the way.
ASA likes this.
Old 02-12-2019, 07:47 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Although the Ascender can be a very capable truck, it's older and kind of seems like it's being bumped down the totem pole by Horizon after their acquisition of Axial. The Redcat has a beautiful body and a lot of nice features packed in for a great price. There are a few quirks with the engineering on the truck, but people are already finding ways around them.
Old 02-12-2019, 11:20 PM
ASA
Tech Adept