Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Chat Lounge
Tire Pressure Monitor System >

Tire Pressure Monitor System

Tire Pressure Monitor System

Old 03-24-2013, 02:35 PM
Tech Regular

Default Tire Pressure Monitor System

Any experts out there? I have a 07 GMC Z71 and recently "Re-Learned" tire positions which seemed to go well. Soon after, 'Service TPMS System" light came on. Any ideas?
Old 03-24-2013, 07:51 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Pot hole?

Normally that is the culprit once you hit them...
Old 03-24-2013, 08:31 PM
Super Moderator

Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)

Look in your manual, most likely it involves releasing pressure from each tire so they can be recognized to where they are now located.

Im no expert, I just recently got new tires on my wife's buick enclave and had the same dilemma.
Old 03-24-2013, 08:39 PM
Tech Elite

Location: Conducting aggressive board meetings at my local track
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)

Most likely a sensor went or is going bad. After about one year the batteries in the sensors go weak. Do you notice if the message shows up when it's cold outside? If so, a weak sensor could be the problem.
Old 03-24-2013, 09:13 PM
Tech Regular

Originally Posted by GundamWZero View Post
Pot hole?

Normally that is the culprit once you hit them...
Possible since I drive in Houston everyday, But it came on immediately after relearning tire position.

Originally Posted by Slo_E4 View Post
Look in your manual, most likely it involves releasing pressure from each tire so they can be recognized to where they are now located.
Im no expert, I just recently got new tires on my wife's buick enclave and had the same dilemma.
Have tried that procedure twice and get the honk that is suppose to mean op was a success.

Originally Posted by SpraydbySprague View Post