Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Chat Lounge
Just a thought.... EV Cars >

Just a thought.... EV Cars

Just a thought.... EV Cars

Old 11-08-2011, 12:46 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 29 (97%+)
Default Just a thought.... EV Cars

A lot of people here race electric cars here. On-road and off road it doesnt matter the technology we use is pretty similar.

for the most part lipos and brushless technology has completely taken over the electric side of our hobby. personally a year ago it was completely foreign to me. i have learned a lot and its pretty amazing how much the efficiency of batteries and speed controls has gone up and the longevity of the motor has gone up exponentially..... here in lies where my thought comes in.....

i have been racing full scale cars and doing performance driving events since ive had my learners permit (7 years or so). i'd say im a pretty good driver, if any of you has done HPDE events im generally in the yellow run group. The car i take to the track is an uncomfortably streetable 93' Toyota MR2 Turbo.

its got around 320rwhp and a suspension set up for the track. it is far from fuel efficient and certainly not environmentally friendly on the emissions end ..... i am certainly not a "green" person when it comes to my cars.. i also never thought very highly of electric/green cars partly because of whenever i was into on road electric sedans about 8 years ago, but also because all of the offerings out there are prius like low performing cars and chevy volt. technically both are impressive achieving great fuel mileage and emission results but because the mantra behind both is that to increase the efficiency of the car and get the best numbers possible you have to sacrifice every bid of performance that makes a car fun to drive.