Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Chat Lounge
In need of a computer GURU >

In need of a computer GURU

In need of a computer GURU

Old 09-26-2011, 05:15 AM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
FATKAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 899
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default In need of a computer GURU

I need some help.

I have to do monthly lighting reports for buildings and I need a way to scan in to my computer simple line drawings of the properties and have them be editable so I can add simple notes such as "OUT", "DIM", Going On and OFF etc...
I already have the scanner etc.. what I need to know is how to make the drawing editable so I can mark the lights with problems and email them to property managers so they can arrange repair

This make an since, I think it should be simple I just cant figure out the best way to do it.

Can the drawing scan be convertid to a WORD document?? Will that work?
FATKAT is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 06:24 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
GundamWZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ft. Bliss, Texas
Posts: 4,718
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

You need Adobe Acrobat.... the REAL one.

The Acrobat you can get nearly for free only allow you to read .pdf files, but you need to edit or write on to it as well.
GundamWZero is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 08:47 AM
  #3  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by GundamWZero View Post
You need Adobe Acrobat.... the REAL one.

The Acrobat you can get nearly for free only allow you to read .pdf files, but you need to edit or write on to it as well.
he asked for a computer guru.

You don't need Acrobat, the real one OR the fake one. What you need is a PDF markup program. I have been using the following app for years, and it is great. You can write onto any pdf. You can do text, make circles or shapes, draw on it, whatever you want, and then re-save the PDF. All you need to do is make sure that your scanner initially scans the file to PDF format. You would then open that pdf in this program.

It's called PDF Xchange Viewer, and it's free. I can even email it to you if you want, just send me a PM.
Cpt.America is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 09:42 AM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
FATKAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 899
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the replies
FATKAT is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 10:22 AM
  #5  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (96)
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 5,808
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Wouldn't scanning it as a pic(JPEG, png, etc) and using MS paint work just as well?
whitrzac is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 10:59 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
StarrRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Youngstown, OH
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by whitrzac View Post
Wouldn't scanning it as a pic(JPEG, png, etc) and using MS paint work just as well?
Which is what I was going to say.....
Scan it as a .jpg....
Open it in Microsoft "Paint" (it is Free, comes with Windows, under Accessories)
Add a text box and type away.....
Save....
Done.
StarrRacing is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 12:11 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
neobart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,413
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Ahh the K.I.S.S. approach.
neobart is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 12:58 PM
  #8  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
oXYnary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,301
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Plus you then have to assume that the computer on the other end has acrobat. What if they are looking at it through a smartphone on the site?

As said, KISS. Just scan to a jpg, markup, zip, and send to recipient.

If you dont think Ms Paint will do it. http://gimp-win.sourceforge.net/
oXYnary is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 02:54 PM
  #9  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by oXYnary View Post
Plus you then have to assume that the computer on the other end has acrobat. What if they are looking at it through a smartphone on the site?

As said, KISS. Just scan to a jpg, markup, zip, and send to recipient.

If you dont think Ms Paint will do it. http://gimp-win.sourceforge.net/
Smart phones can open pdfs just fine.
Cpt.America is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 03:27 AM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
FATKAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 899
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for all the ideas.
My Adobe program has he sticky note feature but if you print the drawing it dosent print the note. I will give the MS Paint thing a try a and see if I can do what I want that way.

Thanks again
FATKAT is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 07:55 AM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
FATKAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 899
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

OK, lets go a little further. I have been playing with MS Paint and I can do what I need to do with it.

I still need to get this back to a PDF format and I have DORO Printer installed and can reprint the scan with doro to a PDF file.

The problem I have now is the size. When I try to print, it is a 16 page file in doro pdf. I need it to be the original size that fits on one standard sheet of paper.

Any ideas
FATKAT is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 08:58 AM
  #12  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (96)
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 5,808
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

why does it need to be a PDF in order to print? Just print it right from MS paint.
whitrzac is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 09:24 AM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
FATKAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 899
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by whitrzac View Post
why does it need to be a PDF in order to print? Just print it right from MS paint.
I work out in the field and i am sending the drawings back to the office by email. The office in turn gives the drawing to the electrician to go out and repair the lights I mark.

I am using all my equipment in my van (computer,printer, copier/scanner and wireless INTERNET access.) I do not know what the office has on their end and don't wish to make it hard for them to see and print my reports and I know they can easily print the PDF file on a 8.5 by 11 sheet of paper.

It freaked them out enough when they started getting my reports by email where every one else has to write them out by hand and deliver them by hand or find a place to fax them to the office. They couldn't figure out how I was doing it until I had to go to the shop and everybody wanted to see what I had set up. I even built my own laptop stand.

It seems that when I scan to a jpg it makes the file to large to print on one sheet of paper.
FATKAT is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 01:06 PM
  #14  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

pdf xchange viewer, man... im tellin ya
Cpt.America is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 09:56 PM
  #15  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
oXYnary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,301
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by FATKAT View Post
It seems that when I scan to a jpg it makes the file to large to print on one sheet of paper.

Printer options: Fit to page. ???
oXYnary is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.