Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Chat Lounge
Hey Americans... what's the big friggin deal with shipping to Canada? >

Hey Americans... what's the big friggin deal with shipping to Canada?

Hey Americans... what's the big friggin deal with shipping to Canada?

Closed Thread

Old 07-01-2011, 07:15 PM
  #16  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13,002
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Has the Canadian postal service quit their strike yet?
wingracer is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 07:26 PM
  #17  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
10 Gauge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Gweedz View Post
Seriously that much paperwork? Does it help if you fill shipping documents online?
If I could get access to these documents I'd gladly fill them out for the seller if that's what it took.

I checked your sales - unfortunately I'm not into Nitro... the micro crawler looks interesting but I already have 4 crawlers LOL. But you're the type of person I'd like to deal with.
It's all good mate!

Having a hard time moving these 2 items for whatever reason, I think I have them priced more than fair right now!
10 Gauge is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 08:35 PM
  #18  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (50)
 
440swinger-kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 2,783
Trader Rating: 50 (96%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DavidR View Post
The one reason I sometimes put "CONUS ONLY" on my sales is this...

I don't mind filling out the forms.... BUT!!! Don't ask me to lie on them... When it asks the value of the item.. I'm putting what it sold for.

I'm not going to purger myself to save somebody a couple bucks in "duties" or whatever.

If you don't mind me filling out the form correctly... I don't mind shipping to you.

95% of the time I agree to sell to a Canadian.. I get paid.. Then I get a PM... "Ohhh.. BTW... Put like $5 in the value box on the form!".

Forget that.

Just my .02....

-David


What he said^
440swinger-kid is offline  
Old 07-02-2011, 01:45 AM
  #19  
Tech Master
 
Longhair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,701
Default

Originally Posted by poppa_duce View Post
Note to self: Never get in line in front of Longhair.
Why is that? Because I am doing the required paperwork BEFORE reaching the counter?
Longhair is offline  
Old 07-02-2011, 05:05 AM
  #20  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Australia.
Posts: 1,343
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DavidR View Post
The one reason I sometimes put "CONUS ONLY" on my sales is this...

I don't mind filling out the forms.... BUT!!! Don't ask me to lie on them... When it asks the value of the item.. I'm putting what it sold for.

-David
If its not thousands of dollars worth of stuff when shipping to Australia put the value under AUD$900, other wise the receiver gets taxed 10% for every AUD$1000, which the Aussie Govt should not see as they already get enough.

What I find annoying is finding something on Amazon that won't ship outside the USA but I can find the same thing on eBay from the same country that will be shipped outside the USA. I'd much rather order something from the USA then from Australia, its cheaper and will take much less to arrive.
Scooter79rs is offline  
Old 07-02-2011, 09:18 AM
  #21  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (244)
 
2canSAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: RIP Frosty, Best Dog Ever
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 244 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DavidR View Post
The one reason I sometimes put "CONUS ONLY" on my sales is this...

I don't mind filling out the forms.... BUT!!! Don't ask me to lie on them... When it asks the value of the item.. I'm putting what it sold for.

I'm not going to purger myself to save somebody a couple bucks in "duties" or whatever.

If you don't mind me filling out the form correctly... I don't mind shipping to you.

95% of the time I agree to sell to a Canadian.. I get paid.. Then I get a PM... "Ohhh.. BTW... Put like $5 in the value box on the form!".

Forget that.

Just my .02....

-David

^^^^
We have a winner. Every time I deal with someone from Canada I get this request. I understand you are trying to save a few bucks but it ultimately comes at the sellers expense. If you lie on the custom forms (aside from being illegal and morally wrong) and a claim has to be filed you get the value listed on the form. So to save you a few dollars I should open myself up to losing money?!?! I have no issues selling to Canadians but it will be done 100% honest.
2canSAM is offline  
Old 07-02-2011, 09:49 AM
  #22  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,370
Default

No, because we don't want your thumb up our ass
-Read you original post

Originally Posted by Longhair View Post
Why is that? Because I am doing the required paperwork BEFORE reaching the counter?
outlandr91 is offline  
Old 07-02-2011, 10:32 AM
  #23  
Tech Master
iTrader: (54)
 
nhmade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: new hampshire
Posts: 1,025
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DavidR View Post
The one reason I sometimes put "CONUS ONLY" on my sales is this...

I don't mind filling out the forms.... BUT!!! Don't ask me to lie on them... When it asks the value of the item.. I'm putting what it sold for.

I'm not going to purger myself to save somebody a couple bucks in "duties" or whatever.

If you don't mind me filling out the form correctly... I don't mind shipping to you.

95% of the time I agree to sell to a Canadian.. I get paid.. Then I get a PM... "Ohhh.. BTW... Put like $5 in the value box on the form!".

Forget that.

Just my .02....

-David
Could not agree more man..I have got that request on more then one occasion.
nhmade is offline  
Old 07-02-2011, 10:35 AM
  #24  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Gweedz View Post
Why go through the hassle of replying here at all? The time it took you to reply you could have filled out a customs form and brought hard cash into your country, Cap'n. Now some poor Canadian (me?) is forced to buy from hobby king.
Why reply? To tell the OP why a lot of Americans here on the site don't like to bother shipping to Canada. It's not a hard concept to follow. And if you can't get something used on here, why not buy from a Canadian based retailer and help your own economy? You know, the Canadian version of Amainhobbies or Stormerhobbies, or maybe the RC shop down the street?
Cpt.America is offline  
Old 07-02-2011, 02:52 PM
  #25  
Tech Regular
 
poppa_duce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 252
Default

Originally Posted by Longhair View Post
Why is that? Because I am doing the required paperwork BEFORE reaching the counter?
Originally Posted by Longhair View Post
People do not have common sense.

When I am waiting in line, I will fill out the proper paperwork. People who are standing around with my thumb up their ass will be asked to step aside to fill out the paperwork and that usually results in them standing in line once again sucking on their thumbs this time around.
No because of this. Just jokin anyway.
poppa_duce is offline  
Old 07-02-2011, 04:52 PM
  #26  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

It might have to do with dealing with customs when shipping packages internationally.
BuggyKing is offline  
Old 07-02-2011, 05:20 PM
  #27  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (23)
 
Ryan Price's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: BALLS DEEP!
Posts: 180
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Or we don't like selling to hoser's....eh!
Ryan Price is offline  
Old 07-02-2011, 05:42 PM
  #28  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (364)
 
peter george's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: queens ny
Posts: 9,299
Trader Rating: 364 (100%+)
Default

I once sold two Kyosho TF-3 's to a guy from Australia.I told him that I was gonna list the value as under 25$ and put it down as toys. I did not buy insurance because it would raise a flag to the greedy customs agent. It got there in 2 weeks and went straight to his house.Customs never entered the picture. Once you start buying insurance ,they get suspicious. I would not do it again because you gotta hold your breath until the other party gets it. And what do you do if it gets lost? refund the money? I would. Its just a pain bro. Also.. just because you guys put the word :''Canadian '' in front of bacon, does not mean you guys invented anything....lol What are you guys gonna invent next..? Canadian milk..? Just kidding Canadians .I love you guys. But there is no reason to call us lazy. Good luck.

Last edited by peter george; 07-02-2011 at 10:30 PM.
peter george is offline  
Old 07-02-2011, 07:27 PM
  #29  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
lowroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,126
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Have you ever shipped something internationally, went the reasonably priced route which includes no tracking, shipped it, thought everything was cool, then get slammed with a paypal claim for non-delivered item? If you have, you'd know why I don't ship internationally. No one wants to pay for the global express which offers tracking, so I'm left to hang it all out there, not happening.


Ps, it is cheaper to ship buffalo to LA, than Buffalo to Toronto.
lowroad is offline  
Old 07-03-2011, 11:55 PM
  #30  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (183)
 
Kylar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 3,662
Trader Rating: 183 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lowroad View Post
Have you ever shipped something internationally, went the reasonably priced route which includes no tracking, shipped it, thought everything was cool, then get slammed with a paypal claim for non-delivered item? If you have, you'd know why I don't ship internationally. No one wants to pay for the global express which offers tracking, so I'm left to hang it all out there, not happening.


Ps, it is cheaper to ship buffalo to LA, than Buffalo to Toronto.
Ding ding ding!!!


This is the main reason i ship USA Only on here and ebay. Tracking is too expensive, and with paypals buyer protection I'm not shipping anything without a tracking number. Its not worth the hassle plus there are plenty of buyers here.

Sorry Canucks and everyone else
Kylar is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service