Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Chat Lounge
Do people use brake? >

Do people use brake?

Do people use brake?

Old 06-03-2010, 08:52 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (81)
 
05forfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 665
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default Do people use brake?

I am wondering if people use brake function before entering the corners, or most of time they just use drag brake (neutral brake) to slow down the car. From my observation, it seems depending on personal preference and driving style
05forfun is offline  
Old 06-03-2010, 08:57 PM
  #2  
Suspended
iTrader: (87)
 
RaceAce701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carbondale, Pa
Posts: 3,044
Trader Rating: 87 (99%+)
Default

i usually set my drag brake up to do most of my braking but i will use the actual brakes on tight corner (or if i blow my line) and at the end of long straights
RaceAce701 is offline  
Old 06-03-2010, 09:02 PM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 14
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

the sponsored drivers at my track uses drag brake only. i asked one of them why and they said for two reasons. one was because it takes more time to go from full throttle to neutral to brake and those tenths of seconds adds up, and the second was it unsettles the car. i still use brakes, but thats cuz I used to run nitro alot so I havent changed yet.
ncode is offline  
Old 06-03-2010, 09:08 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (81)
 
05forfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 665
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

I never used actual brake in the race and it seemed my car was pretty good most of time, but never caught up with some A main guys. I think in addition to the skills, using actual brake at some particular points may help people go around the corner faster and have quicker lap time as well
05forfun is offline  
Old 06-03-2010, 10:12 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

i use actual brake all the time before entering corner..this allow me to point ,shoot and brake..
kschu is offline  
Old 06-03-2010, 10:43 PM
  #6  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (38)
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,706
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I use brakes on tight tracks..depending on the corners, I have Never used drag brake..and I was a sponsored driver..just like most have said..depends on track and what your running..diff, spool, oneway..oneway..never, diff and spool yes..
Oasis is offline  
Old 06-04-2010, 06:55 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Australia.
Posts: 1,343
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

When I use brakes its usually just a small blip of the brake just to slow the car down enough to make the corner, but I only race in 17.5. My main straight is 2 1/2 tennis courts long with a hairpin turn at the end.
Scooter79rs is offline  
Old 06-04-2010, 08:00 AM
  #8  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (23)
 
drive2survive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: south seattle
Posts: 755
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

good to see this post and have been wondering about it,after a year have figured out feathering/manual braking plays a big part on tight tracks but have also noticed that split second can lose a race when the other guy flys around ya, good technek to develope
drive2survive is offline  
Old 06-04-2010, 08:40 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Digit09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,780
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

are you refering to electric or nitro? on or off road? mainly, I use the brakes for changing the attitude of a vehicle in the air. less time spent going up, is more time spent going forward!!!

Last edited by Digit09; 06-04-2010 at 10:01 AM.
Digit09 is offline  
Old 06-04-2010, 10:49 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I set drag brake to 0 and still don't use brake. I just coast into the corner, it saves on battery power. (Am still running ni-mh)
joe of loath is offline  
Old 06-05-2010, 07:05 AM
  #11  
Tech Adept
 
RCAKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 200
Default

Originally Posted by 05forfun View Post
I am wondering if people use brake function before entering the corners, or most of time they just use drag brake (neutral brake) to slow down the car. From my observation, it seems depending on personal preference and driving style
i dont use drag break at all and for my breaks i use verry little if your car is set up good the car should rotate through the turns with out losing much speed.
RCAKid is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.