Quake Live Beta

Reply

Old 02-28-2009, 05:20 PM
  #1  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
oXYnary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,301
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Quake Live Beta

Quake Live Beta is now public to try

http://www.quakelive.com/

For the gist, its Quake 3 arena played in your webrowser and free through advertisement.


User: oXYnary
oXYnary is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 06:01 PM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,918
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Looks pretty cool. I didn't try playing it yet. Is it playable with a keyboard or should I get some sort of controller?
wingracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 07:22 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
 
helibrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 801
Default

Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
Looks pretty cool. I didn't try playing it yet. Is it playable with a keyboard or should I get some sort of controller?
If it's Quake 3 arena, you definitely want to use a keyboard and mouse. Controllers are useless for that game, unless it's a joystick, in which case you'd still want to use your mouse in conjunction with the J-stick. Not sure about Quake Live, but Q3A is all in the 3-Cs config, computer, and connection. At one time I was ranked 4th globally for one map in particular, but the game and traveling all over just to play it, almost cost me a marriage. I played that game for 36 hours straight once. I don't think I'll be clicking that link!
helibrian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 08:15 PM
  #4  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
oXYnary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,301
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Heli, I salute your skill. Dont be too hard on yourself. At least you got out. Its the WoW people who never leave their room are the ones you have to worry about.

I would never use a joystick on a fps, if its a analog. You loose the quickness of stopping or starting. You have to pull from whatever position you are in forward to backword, and those few extra 10th of a second add up to allowing you to be fragged.
oXYnary is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 05:19 AM
  #5  
Tech Rookie
 
Kundoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Interesting Link, thanks
Kundoh is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service