Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Chat Lounge
720p...1080i...1080p...??? >

720p...1080i...1080p...???

720p...1080i...1080p...???

Reply

Old 11-30-2008, 03:24 AM
  #16  
Tech Adept
 
Wild Tiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 187
Default

Originally Posted by joe of loath View Post
pff, it costs more than the price of the TV to get rid of a plasma because of all the heavy metals and sh*t.
Maybe it does over there in the UK, but not here in Oz.

Plus how many times would you get rid of a plasma? Had mine for over 5 years now-pic still as good as the 1st day I got it!
Wild Tiger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 03:33 AM
  #17  
Tech Adept
 
Wild Tiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 187
Default

Originally Posted by Oasis View Post
Why..the only advantage to the plasma is its thin..It has an inferior picture when compared to a DLP rear projection..
I have looked at both pictures and IMO, plasma is the go.

We could go on about this forever - I prefer the clear pic of the Full HD plasma's. Also a DLP would not hang off my wall.

Not to mention bulb replacing that's needed in the DLP's.
(nothing to replace in plasmas)
Wild Tiger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 05:43 AM
  #18  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

my tv only supports 1080i, or 720p... Still until I get HD of some description I wont know what it looks like in full resolution, so no big deal
tc3team is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 10:00 PM
  #19  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (23)
 
Bigshades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

Just imagine what TV's will be like in 20 Years...

maybe we'll have 100,000p TV's by then!
Bigshades is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 07:43 PM
  #20  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
CaptCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 800
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wild Tiger View Post
I have looked at both pictures and IMO, plasma is the go.

We could go on about this forever - I prefer the clear pic of the Full HD plasma's. Also a DLP would not hang off my wall.

Not to mention bulb replacing that's needed in the DLP's.
(nothing to replace in plasmas)
Sure a DLP will hang off the wall.... Or even the ceiling:



And then it gets displayed here:



And the best thing is... With the press of a button you get this:



Zero footprint when I'm not watching a movie. And I have used my projector for over 3 years, and the lamp has still not dimmed noticably.
CaptCrunch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 08:16 PM
  #21  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
goodtunes1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: muskogee,ok
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i have a lot of porn can i come over
goodtunes1978 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 07:38 AM
  #22  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
JCarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dayton,OH
Posts: 1,256
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by goodtunes1978 View Post
i have a lot of porn can i come over
JCarr is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 08:02 AM
  #23  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
CaptCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 800
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by goodtunes1978 View Post
i have a lot of porn can i come over

Ummmm....... You'd have to face my wife on THAT issue. And she SCARES me!! Never mess with a nurse..... They know where it hurts most!!!
CaptCrunch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 08:34 AM
  #24  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13,004
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Here's a question for you tech heads. I just hooked up my Xbox 360 to a HDTV wide, flatscreen CRT. It is 1080i compatible and looks great for everything I use it for. When I put the Xbox in 1080i mode the screen kind of flickers a bit. Not a very good viewing experience. In 720p mode it looks fantastic. Is this just an example of a TV not handling 1080i well or would an HDMI cable help (I'm using component video now?)
wingracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 08:54 AM
  #25  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
CaptCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 800
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
Here's a question for you tech heads. I just hooked up my Xbox 360 to a HDTV wide, flatscreen CRT. It is 1080i compatible and looks great for everything I use it for. When I put the Xbox in 1080i mode the screen kind of flickers a bit. Not a very good viewing experience. In 720p mode it looks fantastic. Is this just an example of a TV not handling 1080i well or would an HDMI cable help (I'm using component video now?)
The flicker that you see may be due to the 1080i interlaced screen. I've heard of some consoles dropping frames in 1080i. The i means that it's an INTERLACED screen. This refers to the fact that, the picture is made up of two seperate frames. First it will paint lines 1,3,5......1079. The next frame will paint lines 2,4,6......1080. Our eye's persistance of vision will combine the two frames into a complete picture. It's a throwback to the days when the TV electronics were not fast enough to produce a single screen of video without flickering at the bottom. As the technology has pushed forward, they still use interlaced screen to push the envelope of the electronics until they get fast enough to produce a non-interlaced screen at whatever total lines the screen is. The problem with interlaced flat panels hooked up to game consoles is that SOMETIMES the monitor drops one frame or the other and flickers.
CaptCrunch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 09:17 AM
  #26  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

If you can pick one up cheap, maybe a gold plated wire connection set will help?
tc3team is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 09:42 AM
  #27  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

it's not really practical to send HD via component video. even PAL looks better through S-video, so to get the ful leffect of HD you'd need a gold plated HDMI cable.
joe of loath is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 01:21 PM
  #28  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13,004
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

So now the next question is which device do I hook up with the HDMI cable? The TV only has one HDMI input. Do I go with the cable box or the Xbox? I'm thinking cable since I watch that more than play video games.
wingracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 01:31 PM
  #29  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
So now the next question is which device do I hook up with the HDMI cable? The TV only has one HDMI input. Do I go with the cable box or the Xbox? I'm thinking cable since I watch that more than play video games.
ouch!

the question is, how much HD do you watch on the cable box? you'll get just as good quality through SCART as you would from HDMI if its all NTSC.
joe of loath is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 02:23 PM
  #30  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
CaptCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 800
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
So now the next question is which device do I hook up with the HDMI cable? The TV only has one HDMI input. Do I go with the cable box or the Xbox? I'm thinking cable since I watch that more than play video games.
You can get an HDMI switchbox. That will let you choose between HDMI inputs
CaptCrunch is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service