Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Chat Lounge
My not so pleasant purchase from Tower Hobbies..... >

My not so pleasant purchase from Tower Hobbies.....

Like Tree12Likes
  • 1 Post By billdelong
  • 2 Post By TIME MACHINE
  • 1 Post By AHR43
  • 1 Post By Bri
  • 2 Post By TIME MACHINE
  • 2 Post By Milkdudd
  • 3 Post By TIME MACHINE

My not so pleasant purchase from Tower Hobbies.....

Old 02-01-2020, 01:55 PM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Angry My not so pleasant purchase from Tower Hobbies.....

Check this out. I’m a long time customer of Tower Hobbies, I’ve been ordering from them since the 1980’s. I’m always a huge fan of them, so we will see how this plays out and if that changes.

On January 7th, I ordered a Tekno MT410 kit. It was delivered a few days later. Upon arrival, I pulled the sealed kit out of the outer cardboard box and placed the kit on a shelf in my garage.

This morning, I am prepared to build the kit. I slice open the seals on the box (clear circles of tape) and start to remove the contents of the box. Right away I notice that the bags of parts are all open and have been cut with scissors. No chassis plate, no diffs, and missing bags.

I immediately called Tower and they are closed on weekends. No way to leave a message. I jumped online to initiate a return, but neither my customer number or order number is accepted by the system. Don’t ask me why, I tried several times.

So either someone internally at Tower is stealing parts from kits, or they accepted a return from a customer and believed that it was still factory sealed. No way on earth Tekno did this.

I have never had to return an order before and have never had any complaints. I swear, if Tower thinks I’m lying or that I’m scamming them, I will lose my mind. Not only am I disappointed that I can’t build my truck, I’m more upset that some lowlife scammer or thief cheated the system. I can’t stand a thief!