Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Chat Lounge
All Wheel Steering for On-Road >

All Wheel Steering for On-Road

Like Tree2Likes

All Wheel Steering for On-Road

Old 10-16-2018, 12:34 PM
Tech Rookie

Default All Wheel Steering for On-Road

I am competing in an event where the track is very small. It is only 4 feet wide and the whole track is quite compact with hairpin turns. I am new to RC, so I bought the cheapest 1/10th scale touring car I could find (The Trunigy TD10 V2), but even with the wheels locked out it has a 2.5 ft turning radius, which makes the hairpins really unforgiving (the center-line on these turns is a 2ft radius!). Two questions:
  1. Is there any on-road kit that comes with all-wheel steering standard? Or is there a kit that is easy to modify?
  2. Do you think this will make a noticeable difference in these tight turns?

Last edited by ThunderNeed; 10-16-2018 at 12:55 PM.
Old 10-16-2018, 01:24 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

Try contacting wtcc i think he try 4ws on one of his car
Old 10-16-2018, 01:30 PM
Tech Master

No kits come with 4ws as standard. Touring cars that is. Several could be reasonably easily modified for it. Any kit that has a "dynamic rear toe" kit, or setup, could be modified.

Now.. lets talk about "how big of a problem" this is. What you're running in to, is that at slow speeds, your turning circle is defined by the speed at which you can swing the front of the car around the center of the rear wheels. This only holds true at the slowest of speeds. As your speed picks up, and tires start to act.. dynamically? Well as soon as they start generating real grip, they start sliding. Your cars center of rotation moves forward from between the rear wheels, and starts to approach the front wheels. The ultimate extension of this, is doing donuts.