• 1 Post By grabbem88
  • 1 Post By gavoss
  • 2 Post By gavoss

Am I being a jerk?

Old 04-07-2018, 11:10 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Am I being a jerk?

OK, I'm new to RC cars, not RC. I've been flying models since '73 so I've been around. I was looking for a ready to run truck, TLR 22 specifically, an older 2.0 was fine. I found one here from a guy that had 18+ transactions.

While going back and forth on the deal I told him I was just getting started in RC cars and had NOTHING car related except a Lipo charger. I got suspicious when he kept asking me about specifics like do I need the motor, do I need the ESC etc? I kept telling him I needed EVERYTHING. I expected a ready to drive truck after I installed my radio. In one of my last PM's I asked specifically if I got "everything in the photos and everything else we talked about." I was assured I would. I was also concerned because there were many misspelled words and syntax errors in each and every PM and hoped that things didn't fall through the cracks because of a language barrier.

He shipped the next business day and I got it 2 days later. As soon as it hit the door he PM'ed asking if I was happy. I told him I was going through everything then and would let him know.

The most obvious item missing was the box that held all the spare parts. Instead I got a taped baggie, not even a Ziploc baggie! I went through the bag and noticed I was missing 2 tubes of green slime that were shown in the box. I got the motor, ESC and programming card in a bubble wrapped bag. But when I look to see if I have what it takes to mount everything to make the car run, I find the motor screws are missing along with the pinion gear and finally the clutch cover. I didn't even get any body clips! Now I'm disappointed. The majority of stuff was fully acceptable but to get what I thought I was buying to run, was now going to cost me another $30.