Stock Motor Question

Reply

Old 09-22-2004, 04:48 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 431
Default Stock Motor Question

Hi, I have just uncovered a Purple Bull GM stock motor. Has anyone had one of these? What type of stock motor would you compare them to a P2k or a Monster Stock. Thanks for your help guys im new to stock.

Cheers,

Mossie
Mossie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 05:40 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
nam_tc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 347
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

never heard of that motor.....

however,
if you're racing at castlehill.....and have just entered stock class.....i wouldn't worry too much about how it would compare to a p2k or monster......

in most cases....you'll find yourself in more trouble with a quicker motor......

just make sure the motor is not filthy and i'm sure you will be competitive enough. (speed wise)

if you're still using the standard spur on the pro4.....i'd start with a 32T pinion and work my way up (depending on motor temp)

i use 33T for a monster......
nam_tc3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 04:44 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 431
Default

How do you tell if a motor needs new brushes, or the something done to the comm (whatever that is)?

Thanks for your reply nam, the stock is going in my tc3.

Cheers,

Mossie
Mossie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 06:31 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (17)
 
chappi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Default

Originally posted by Mossie
How do you tell if a motor needs new brushes, or the something done to the comm (whatever that is)?

Thanks for your reply nam, the stock is going in my tc3.

Cheers,

Mossie
I guess when you remove the brushes from the motor, if u see a lot of worn-out to a very U shape, then I guess you need to replace a new burshes, about the comm, and I have idea as well.
As I am not a Pro. I want to know the answer for this question as well

I want to buy a 23T stock Motor to enter Stock Race, What are the good one that I should get price and reason, thanks
chappi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 06:32 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (17)
 
chappi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Default

opps, wrong typo, I mean I have no idea to determine when to replce the comm.
chappi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 06:40 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
 
FlyinGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Land Down Under
Posts: 283
Default

Originally posted by chappi
about the comm, and I have idea as well.
As I am not a Pro. I want to know the answer for this question as well
you have to cut the comm when u see that it's no longer round an even .....
when it's no longer clean an after a few runs on it ...
also ... take notice of it's performance when u get it new... after many races u should notice a drop in performance ..
thus get it cut .... or use someone's dyno ot CTX to test it .....

mossie : .. .we'll help u out if u need any ...

Originally posted by chappi
I want to buy a 23T stock Motor to enter Stock Race, What are the good one that I should get price and reason, thanks
super stock Tamiya RZ 23t motor ....... all the way ....
i think atlas makes good 23t motor as well ... forgot wat's it called
FlyinGT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 06:42 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
 
FlyinGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Land Down Under
Posts: 283
Default

Originally posted by chappi


I want to buy a 23T stock Motor to enter Stock Race, What are the good one that I should get price and reason, thanks
urmmm are u racing in Sydney or O/S .... coz our stock class here ... run 27t motor ..... then u should go 4 a trinity monster or a epic binary 2 ..
FlyinGT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 06:54 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 431
Default

Originally posted by FlyinGT
you have to cut the comm when u see that it's no longer round an even .....
when it's no longer clean an after a few runs on it ...
also ... take notice of it's performance when u get it new... after many races u should notice a drop in performance ..
thus get it cut .... or use someone's dyno ot CTX to test it .....

mossie : .. .we'll help u out if u need any ...



super stock Tamiya RZ 23t motor ....... all the way ....
i think atlas makes good 23t motor as well ... forgot wat's it called
Thanks man cos Im really out of my depth. Ive only ever run a 540. Do you race at the hill?

Cheers,

Mossie
Mossie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 06:55 PM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (37)
 
danjoy25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by FlyinGT
you have to cut the comm when u see that it's no longer round an even .....
when it's no longer clean an after a few runs on it ...
also ... take notice of it's performance when u get it new... after many races u should notice a drop in performance ..
thus get it cut .... or use someone's dyno ot CTX to test it .....

mossie : .. .we'll help u out if u need any ...



super stock Tamiya RZ 23t motor ....... all the way ....
i think atlas makes good 23t motor as well ... forgot wat's it called
FlyinGT,

You seem to know alot about tuning motors and maybe you can help me aswell. I am have problems finding out where the comm is in my motors to perform the steps you mentioned above. Any help would be goods on what a comm looks like and where would they normally be.

danjoy25 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 07:05 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
 
jiggen5354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 192
Default

the comm is the copper part that the brushes rub against
jiggen5354 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 07:07 PM
  #11  
Tech Regular
 
FlyinGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Land Down Under
Posts: 283
Default

Originally posted by danjoy25
FlyinGT,

You seem to know alot about tuning motors and maybe you can help me aswell. I am have problems finding out where the comm is in my motors to perform the steps you mentioned above. Any help would be goods on what a comm looks like and where would they normally be.

....now thats a good ....question .............hhhmmmmmmmm..lets c

urrrhhhh......... i think it that thing on the along arm thing ..that is nice an shinny when new ....?? i think .............u kno where the brushes should touch...... .....inside the can .,..... i think con someone help me ..... danjoy has stumped me ...???
FlyinGT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 07:10 PM
  #12  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,983
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by jiggen5354
the comm is the copper part that the brushes rub against
Mate Dan is taking the piss, he uses BL.
Besercoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 07:11 PM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
OldSkool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Barnawartha, Victoria
Posts: 788
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Talking

Originally posted by FlyinGT
urmmm are u racing in Sydney or O/S .... coz our stock class here ... run 27t motor ..... then u should go 4 a trinity monster or a epic binary 2 ..
I am led to the understanding that the Binary (quad magnet motor) stocks are illegal.

Stick with the monster models, Trinity, Fantom, Paradigm, etc.

I'm running Fantom, and I have a Paradigm now as well.

Both seam to be good, I don't have access to a dyno, so no real specs at the moment.

The Paradigm motors are now available in OZ, at www.radiomodels.com.au

I got mine a couple of months ago out of the states.(Didn't know at the time they were available in OZ)

And the Fantom motors are available at most good hobbie stores.

Good luck
OldSkool is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 07:14 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
 
FlyinGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Land Down Under
Posts: 283
Default

Originally posted by OldSkool
I am led to the understanding that the Binary (quad magnet motor) stocks are illegal.

... wasn't talkin bout the quad magnet one ..
there is a new epic binary that has 2 magnets ........!!
FlyinGT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 07:24 PM
  #15  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 449
Default

Its called the Epic ROAR stock which is similar to the Binary stock except it has 2 magnets and is approved by ROAR. I've been running this for the last month. Very good top end, has more revs than a monster and is a bit tricky to get the gearing right.
itchynads is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service