HPI Trophy 3.5 vs LRP S8 BX RTR's >

HPI Trophy 3.5 vs LRP S8 BX RTR's

HPI Trophy 3.5 vs LRP S8 BX RTR's

Old 08-21-2009, 06:19 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default HPI Trophy 3.5 vs LRP S8 BX RTR's

Howdy guys, long time forum reader, first time poster

I am relatively new to R/C nitro, had a r/c car about 15-20 years ago (a 'Cox Bandido' if anyone remembers the car, think it was a re-badged Kyosho Pegasus....ahhh the memories!)

I am looking at getting back into RC, and was looking at a RTR package, and can't decide between these 2 buggies....I am initially looking for a fun (fast) car with a view of doing the odd club race and being competitive (provided my driving abilities are up to scratch).

Done a little research, and the following is a list I came up with (pro's and con's if you will)

a) Both RTR packages are around the same price (circa AU$480-$500)

b) The trophy is basically a re-shelled HotBodies Lightning 2, which appears to be a proven design

c) LRP are renowned for good quality electrical gear and engines, which should mean their cars are of a similar standard (they claim its the best RTR in its value class)

d) HPI have terrifc aftermarket support, with replacement/hop-up parts at reasonable prices, stocked by most LHS's

e) LRP parts are available, but a little more pricey, mostly have to be ordered via online hobby shop, but are available (not such a worry)

f) Given the above point, having to obtain a replacement part is less likely, because from what I have read, the LRP S8 BX buggy is quite a sturdy piece of kit with no major flaws in quality/reliability

g) The HPI engine produces a circa 2.5 HP on tap, as opposed to the LRP Z.21 engine which is a claimed 2.12 HP

h) Given the above point, the LRP appears to have a slightly better chassis design, slightly narrower in width, has a front sway bar, relatively large shocks and active caster rear end for better manouverability

i) They both look the goods in the visual department