Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Newbie here

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2009, 06:01 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Newbie here

Sorry guys for the silly questions but here we go.

I live in Melbourne and I'm looking to join a club, I haven't done this before and will like to ask a few things:

1. What's the difference between Nitro, Pull Start and Tourer Pro Racing?
2. Which scale racing is the more popular, 1/8 Scale or 1/5 Scale or there's really no difference?
3. If I go to a hobbies shop and purchase a car, will that car be competitive or I will I need to make some modifications to make it competitive?

Thanks guys,

Enrique
Old 04-15-2009, 06:07 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

1. Pull start are slower motors and is the begginer class This is were I would start Tourer is the fast cars
2.1/10th scale racing is more popular in onroad and 1/8th in offroad. 1/10th is were it is at in onroad
3.Yes you can purchase a competive car at a hobby shop str8 out of the box I am 1 eyed Kyosho so I would get an Fw-05 shaft drive car or an V1S3 belt drive car but both aimed at pullstart class if you get the v1s3 when you think you are rdy you can just upgrade the motor and race in tourer
I am sure more experenced racers will answer as well
Old 04-15-2009, 06:13 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

hi, melb track i don't know.

to keep it simple
1. nitro racing runs cars on nitro fuel
pull start, runs on nitro fuel, uses a pullstart to get the engine to run

2. popular is 1/10th and 1/8th scale......

3. do some research on the cars in what scale you want to go to. brands = kyosho, xray, mugen, serpent etc. all great and competitive cars. depending on your budget comes into play. if you get one of the above cars, im sure for a newbie ( and speaking as one myself ) you won't need any modifications at first.
Old 04-15-2009, 06:21 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Bollard
2.1/10th scale racing is more popular in onroad and 1/8th in offroad.