XRC 1/5 SCALE CARS

Old 12-23-2006, 03:44 AM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
brewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 557
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default XRC 1/5 SCALE CARS

Hi Everyone,

I am starting a thread on these cars for people to give setups and any issues which they are having with these cars.

I have recently purchased some cars with the intent of starting a class in the Northern Suburbs of SA, at the local Pocket Bike track and incorporating into the Littlehampton track.

During the reviews of these cars please be as honest and constructive as possible please.

Lets talk cars, firstly straight out of the box these cars do need some attention to make them more reliable. Firstly the electronics is recommended to be changed I am using Hitec servos which have been good thus far.The build quality of these cars is not user friendly, it is recommended to replace all bolts with ss high tensile items. Due to the poor quality of bolts and the loctite that the manufacture use, result in either stripped, broken or rounded bolts.

With these couple of changes the car should be pretty reliable with only fine tuning needing to be done. We have found that the brakes leave little to be desired but we will keep working on them. Following is a list of things which we have upgraded to make the cars a little nicer to use.

- The pullstarter centre is replaced by a Zenoah item.
- Shock oil is replaced with 6000f/3000r weight oil
- Using the one servo for brakes and throttle the cables are modified so the calipers can be adjusted individually.
- The diff is stripped, cleaned and shimmed then rebuilt with HT grease and sealed so grease doesnt leak out.
- Last but not least replace the tyres with some good quality ones.

With these small changes the cars have been pretty good, the motors are no power house but with the revised gear ratio it makes them a little more fun in the top end without sacrificing bottom end torque. They are also very easy to start and tune, there is a little to be had if replacing the air filter with the wifes stocking The cosmetics on the car are pretty poor with the standard
Honda Accord body being easy to crack but for 1/3 the price of other bodies its not to much to worry about.

Overall with time and the feedback which is being given to the manufacturer, the cars will be better straight out of the box and racing them will be a blast with some governed rules, I can see the racing being very close and good to watch.

These cars are designed to be very cheap and with replacement parts aplenty and very cheap (cheaper than my ep on road) the class will be financially viable for most people to enjoy.

A quick pricing for those who dont know much about them.

Car is $699.00 minus radio gear + freight
An upgraded race ready version - radio gear is $850.00 + freight
All cars will come with a complete parts list for the convience of ordering when parts are needed.

Please dont hesitate to pm me for any enquires on these cars as I generally have enough in stock to be able to supply.

Thanks David

Below are some pics of my car.




[IMG]http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o33/brewer_08/100_0856.jpg[/IMG



XRC
brewer is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 04:11 AM
  #2  
Tech Adept
 
nitro_racer23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 224
Default

have had the same issue with my diff and have done the same thing shimmed it out and its now fine i also put harm springs on dosent really matter which ones just any that are shorter to allow you to lower the ride height. I have also constructed a carbon sevo tray to get rid of the plastic box by doing this i have also removed the posts the steering servo mounts on and mounted the servo on the carbon top deck thus allowing me to get full steering lock i run 3 servos 1 steering / one for throtle and brake / and one for front brakes so now i can adjust the brake bias on my controller during a race by the touch of a button to allow more rear or front brake this can dramaticaly change the turn-in ( oversteer/ understeer ) the car has.

cheers
Chris
nitro_racer23 is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 04:26 AM
  #3  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
brewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 557
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default XRC 1/5 SCALE CARS

Chris can you post pics of your upper deck? We did our first one like that today but didnt need to change the upper deck, The holes on chassis are slotted so you can move the steering post backwards therefore get max steering angle.Are you having any probs with axle tramp or open wheeling in the backend?

Thanks David
brewer is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 04:39 AM
  #4  
Tech Adept
 
nitro_racer23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 224
Default

the back end binds up you have to take it all apart and file burs and the over moulding on the rear knuckles not have any issues with the car now just a tip pull your rear dog bones out and gluse the pins in i have had 2 that have come out during testing. i will post pics up of the deck as sonn as i get my digital camera back its on loan to some friends who are on holidays.

cheers
Chris
nitro_racer23 is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 05:25 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Kodak Hodak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: South Australia, Australia
Posts: 2,159
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

this would be interesting to watch for sure!!!
Kodak Hodak is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 05:31 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Turbine_au's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SA
Posts: 1,340
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Nothing against HH, but there is no way I would want to run one of these things there. 1/5 scales are not exactly very small...
Turbine_au is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 05:33 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Kodak Hodak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: South Australia, Australia
Posts: 2,159
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Turbine_au
Nothing against HH, but there is no way I would want to run one of these things there. 1/5 scales are not exactly very small...

i just reliased on the size, LOL thas why i changed my post!!! maybe LH would be more suited!!!
Kodak Hodak is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 07:02 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Turbine_au's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SA
Posts: 1,340
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, LH already run 1/5th's.
Turbine_au is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 02:30 PM
  #9  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
brewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 557
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default XRC 1/5 SCALE CARS

Lh do run them but to be competitive your car needs to be worth BIG $$$$$$ but hey they are awesome to watch.Thats why we are trying to start up these cars as a entry level,it just helps that there cheep cheep like a budgie
brewer is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 02:32 AM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
Toy000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The car looks tuff, nice work
Toy000 is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 02:49 PM
  #11  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
brewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 557
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default XRC 1/5 SCALE CARS

Thanks rob just a quick slap of paint, actually 6 cans of the stuff just a little bit dearer than painting the 1/10 scale

Last edited by brewer; 12-25-2006 at 05:08 AM.
brewer is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 02:57 PM
  #12  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
brewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 557
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default XRC 1/5 SCALE CARS

some other pics of a car which has been set up.





brewer is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 03:15 PM
  #13  
Suspended
iTrader: (1)
 
robot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: sydney
Posts: 701
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Can you get different bodies for them or is that the standard body
robot is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 05:32 PM
  #14  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Turbine_au's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SA
Posts: 1,340
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

If you run the twin brake servos, are they connected to the same channel?
Turbine_au is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 03:12 AM
  #15  
Tech Elite
 
ProudSavageOwnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Leboland Sydney NSW
Posts: 2,826
Default

Originally Posted by Turbine_au
If you run the twin brake servos, are they connected to the same channel?

im guessing it will be that with asplitter......or u can use a top end radio such as the 3pk and have servo mixing......

if i do get one of these things im gona hook up the front brakes to the 3rd channel on my radio for take burnouts lol
ProudSavageOwnr is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.