Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > Company/Manufacturer Forums > Ask Hitec
hs-5925mg servo problem >

hs-5925mg servo problem

hs-5925mg servo problem

Old 08-05-2009, 08:07 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 836
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default hs-5925mg servo problem

here is my problem, i ran all day last saturday fine.

today, i decide to change the voltage regulator from the novak 5 amp bec to the muchmore 5 amp bec regulator-no reason, just trying something different.

both regulators work perfect, input is 7.4 volts, with output of 6v on novak, and 6.5v on the muchmore- this was measured by my fluke meter.

i plug everything on and the steering servo works perfect, but i try out the throttle servo(hs-5925mg) and it works ok, then i lower the epa on the transmitter, all of a sudden, i pull the throttle, and it goes just a little bit, then i brake, it goes little bit, then even less, and then, it doesnt turn at all.
for no reason it burned up, i opened it up and i smell the burnt diode smell.

i checked the output of the regulator, it was still 6.5v so it was obvious the .5 volt killed the servo.

why??
comedyman809 is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 08:22 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
looper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DFW area of Texas
Posts: 2,224
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

there is a chance that the servo was going out and the timing of the regulator change was just a coincidence.

just putting that out there. i had a 5925 go south on me before. lived a long time before it happened. contact hitec about it, i think you will like what they offer as a resolution. it is a legacy servo now and well just contact them, i think you will like it.

i am 100% hitec over here. they just rock


edit, my nimh rx packs peak at close to 8v so i dont think the .5v is the problem
looper is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 08:30 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 836
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

i was thinking the same thing actually, the servo has just been put to rest, time to replace.
comedyman809 is offline  
Old 08-06-2009, 08:28 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Billy T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If the servo is less than 2 years old, you can send it in to us and it will be covered under warranty. Please send the servo in to us with a copy of your purchase receipt. Here is a link to the return procedure. http://www.hitecrcd.com/pages/support/102
Billy T. is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.