Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > Company/Manufacturer Forums > Ask Hitec
Hitec 5990 TG - Lipo Compatible? >

Hitec 5990 TG - Lipo Compatible?

Hitec 5990 TG - Lipo Compatible?

Reply

Old 01-28-2009, 05:45 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (97)
 
DavidR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lake of the Ozarks, Mo
Posts: 1,669
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default Hitec 5990 TG - Lipo Compatible?

Hi...

I am looking at new servos for my RC8T and was curious if I could run the Hitec 5990 TG's (which are technically robot servos) on straight 2S lipos? The site says they can handle 7.4V but a fully charged 2S lipo comes in at right at 8.4V.

Also... What would the speed be since these servos are rated differently than normal R/C servos?

Please let me know... Thanx!
DavidR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 08:57 AM
  #2  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Poway
Posts: 148
Default

Originally Posted by DavidR View Post
Hi...

I am looking at new servos for my RC8T and was curious if I could run the Hitec 5990 TG's (which are technically robot servos) on straight 2S lipos? The site says they can handle 7.4V but a fully charged 2S lipo comes in at right at 8.4V.

Also... What would the speed be since these servos are rated differently than normal R/C servos?

Please let me know... Thanx!

Hello,

First I would like to state that I do not recommend a robot servo (HSR-5990) in a RC car or plane. They do use a different protocol and may not work effectively enough for what you want it to do in a RC application.

With that being said I would recommend the HS-7955 servo for your 8T. We have been testing this servo on a 2 cell Lipo and it has been working fine with no issues


Martin S.
martin salgado is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 01:22 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (97)
 
DavidR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lake of the Ozarks, Mo
Posts: 1,669
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

How about the 7950 and 7940? Will those handle a 2S Lipo?

The specs on those are a little closer to what I'm looking for.

Thanx!
DavidR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 07:55 PM
  #4  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Yes, they will.
Tres is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 08:41 AM
  #5  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Poway
Posts: 148
Default

Originally Posted by DavidR View Post
How about the 7950 and 7940? Will those handle a 2S Lipo?

The specs on those are a little closer to what I'm looking for.

Thanx!
These servos unfortunately will be available until late March of this year.

But then again when you put a 2 cell to the HS-7955 servos you are going to increase the torque on it. It would put out close to 400 oz in.
martin salgado is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 10:47 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (97)
 
DavidR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lake of the Ozarks, Mo
Posts: 1,669
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

The main thing I look for in a servo is speed.. I like super fast servos.

The TQ specs should be good for my Truggy and the speed will be awesome.

Now I don't know what to do though... March is a long way off.
DavidR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 01:47 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 138
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hot question then, why would you not run the 5990's. I just got a full set for my Platinum Revo and they work very well, a high pitched squeal when being used though. Is there something I need to look out for by installing these in a truck?
Jammin_Xtream49 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 01:50 PM
  #8  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Robotic servos use a different pulse width than standard RC based servos.
Tres is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 09:38 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (97)
 
DavidR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lake of the Ozarks, Mo
Posts: 1,669
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

So what does that difference in pulse width mean?

I guess I'm just trying to understand the difference...
DavidR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 12:59 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (97)
 
DavidR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lake of the Ozarks, Mo
Posts: 1,669
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

???
DavidR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 09:45 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (67)
 
jldjlaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Somewhere in a house!
Posts: 3,622
Trader Rating: 67 (99%+)
Default

I'm very curious about the deal with the 5990 myself and what makes it so different to not be used in a rc car as I have one in my 8t right now and it's flawless.
jldjlaudio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 07:20 AM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (115)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dry Heat, AZ
Posts: 1,990
Trader Rating: 115 (100%+)
Default

I would try to start a new thread but the forum has not allowed that in like 3 days...

I just got a Kyosho 4 wheel drive 1/10th scale ZX5

I am wondering what servo would be for this application? I assume that I want something in the 110-150 oz but not sure?

If someone could recommend a model number or 2 that would be great. I would like to keep it under $100 if possible, I will be racing club nights at a track in Scottsdale, AZ!

Thank you
Paul
hemi4me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 07:46 AM
  #13  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I ran a HS-6965HB in my ZX5 when I ran for Kyosho.

Originally Posted by hemi4me View Post
I would try to start a new thread but the forum has not allowed that in like 3 days...

I just got a Kyosho 4 wheel drive 1/10th scale ZX5

I am wondering what servo would be for this application? I assume that I want something in the 110-150 oz but not sure?

If someone could recommend a model number or 2 that would be great. I would like to keep it under $100 if possible, I will be racing club nights at a track in Scottsdale, AZ!

Thank you
Paul
Tres is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 07:56 AM
  #14  
Tech Master
iTrader: (48)
 
Bondonutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: St. Pete FL.
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

I've ben running robot servos in my RC's for years, Have one in my 17lb Losi XXL with no servo saver and Castle/BEC nearly 4yrs and still going strong.

A fully charged 2s lipo is at 8.40volts but only for very shortly befor voltage diminishes to a more more steady 7.4 or so. If the RX your useing can handle 9.0 volts (Spektrum) then you have no worrys.
Bondonutz is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service