Like Tree1Likes

FEAR FARM RC RACEWAY

Old 04-21-2011, 05:14 PM
  #2041  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 81
Default

Originally Posted by akiyama77 View Post
whats the schedule for sunday? can't make it sat. but is sunday open for practice?
anybody
I just heard a semi-official no for Sunday. I'm heading over there in a few to find out for sure.
supergenius is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 05:58 PM
  #2042  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
mHOUPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KCMO
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 5 (86%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dbackmasta View Post
They're working on power improvements, in fact they will be working on many upgrades in the near future. This Saturday I'll be out there running races and actually racing myself :-). Noon start..
I'm hoping to make it out Saturday.
mHOUPS is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 09:16 PM
  #2043  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
recrutr911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 494
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dbackmasta View Post
They're working on power improvements, in fact they will be working on many upgrades in the near future. This Saturday I'll be out there running races and actually racing myself :-). Noon start..
Is this 1/8th scale or 1/10th scale Kenny?
recrutr911 is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 04:15 AM
  #2044  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (7)
 
BARK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Phx,Az.
Posts: 62
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dbackmasta View Post
They're working on power improvements, in fact they will be working on many upgrades in the near future. This Saturday I'll be out there running races and actually racing myself :-). Noon start..
Sounds like fun. Gonna try to make it out and run with you KB
BARK is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:04 AM
  #2045  
Tech Master
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CHIZZLE View Post
Yep, mine was doing the same thing. I just figured my power supply was drawing too much amperage. It pulls somewhere around 47 amps.
Originally Posted by msciarrotta View Post
How does it draw more current than it is supplying? It must have been hot!!

Current draw should be about 1/2 an amp higher than your total charge rate. Just enough for the led and display on your charger. I would try a 12v computer supply from frys. The have a very clean dc output.

Matt
Originally Posted by Dbackmasta View Post
They're working on power improvements, in fact they will be working on many upgrades in the near future. This Saturday I'll be out there running races and actually racing myself :-). Noon start..
I'm using a CheckPoint power supply, 25 amp capable. I only charge 10 amps though. Again, I don't have this issue at other facilities or home, so I will not be investing in another power supply only to possibly find out I'll have the same issue.

There is no way I'll be able to come back out to FF for practice/or race until the power issues are resolved. Which sucks, because it is really my favorite place to run.

ben
armourbl is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:33 AM
  #2046  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
CHIZZLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,291
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by armourbl View Post
I'm using a CheckPoint power supply, 25 amp capable. I only charge 10 amps though. Again, I don't have this issue at other facilities or home, so I will not be investing in another power supply only to possibly find out I'll have the same issue.

There is no way I'll be able to come back out to FF for practice/or race until the power issues are resolved. Which sucks, because it is really my favorite place to run.

ben
Just hook it up to your car battery.
CHIZZLE is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:55 AM
  #2047  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Surprise
Posts: 633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by The Juice View Post
I think that was happening to chizzle when we were out there. I dont know how they have it set up but I did see 1 very long and thin extension cord running from the big generator close to the freeway towards the tracks.
Here is what is happening. The more cords you plug in, daisy chained from one power strip to another to another The more voltage drop you will get. We all use thin extension cords and daisy chain them. The thicker cords should be in line first and as you go down the line use the smaller cords. Electronic equipment like we use is designed to operate between 110-130 volts. Once you drop below 110 V you will have problems like you are experiencing
Sparky4u is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 09:04 AM
  #2048  
Tech Master
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CHIZZLE View Post
Just hook it up to your car battery.
I know people do it, but I'm not down with that.

Originally Posted by Sparky4u View Post
Here is what is happening. The more cords you plug in, daisy chained from one power strip to another to another The more voltage drop you will get. We all use thin extension cords and daisy chain them. The thicker cords should be in line first and as you go down the line use the smaller cords. Electronic equipment like we use is designed to operate between 110-130 volts. Once you drop below 110 V you will have problems like you are experiencing
For me, I understood this through pure common sense. But, it is nice that you explained it in technical terms.

Ultimately, they need to fix the power. Looks like they are, and I'm glad for that.

ben
armourbl is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 09:27 AM
  #2049  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
CHIZZLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,291
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by armourbl View Post
I know people do it, but I'm not down with that.
I'm just curious, but why? These are 12 volt chargers, they're made to be hooked up to a 12 volt battery.
CHIZZLE is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 10:17 AM
  #2050  
Tech Master
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CHIZZLE View Post
I'm just curious, but why? These are 12 volt chargers, they're made to be hooked up to a 12 volt battery.
I know it is possible, but I just don't want to hassle with it or worry about draining my car battery. Also don't want to shorten the life of the battery either.

I have enough batteries that I can charge ahead of time and get in some practice, but not really enough for a race night. I have to be able to charge on race nights. Ultimately, this is one of the amenities that the track needs to provide well, just like having a groomed and watered track. Power should be there in my opinion.

Worst case, I rather bring a small Honda generator if I had to, rather than charge off my car battery. But, I don't own a generator....

ben
armourbl is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 10:40 AM
  #2051  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
CHIZZLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,291
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by armourbl View Post
I know it is possible, but I just don't want to hassle with it or worry about draining my car battery. Also don't want to shorten the life of the battery either.

I have enough batteries that I can charge ahead of time and get in some practice, but not really enough for a race night. I have to be able to charge on race nights. Ultimately, this is one of the amenities that the track needs to provide well, just like having a groomed and watered track. Power should be there in my opinion.

Worst case, I rather bring a small Honda generator if I had to, rather than charge off my car battery. But, I don't own a generator....

ben
It hardly drains your car battery but if you're that concerned here's another option. Usually on those big generators there's a few outlets. Just go plug directly into it and avoid the extension cords.
CHIZZLE is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 01:51 PM
  #2052  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
aznitronut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Phx. Az
Posts: 2,486
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

What time do gates open saturday?
aznitronut is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 03:05 PM
  #2053  
MTR
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
MTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Phx, Az
Posts: 50
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by aznitronut View Post
What time do gates open saturday?
10am i think
MTR is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 05:19 PM
  #2054  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 272
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by armourbl View Post
I know it is possible, but I just don't want to hassle with it or worry about draining my car battery. Also don't want to shorten the life of the battery either.

I have enough batteries that I can charge ahead of time and get in some practice, but not really enough for a race night. I have to be able to charge on race nights. Ultimately, this is one of the amenities that the track needs to provide well, just like having a groomed and watered track. Power should be there in my opinion.

Worst case, I rather bring a small Honda generator if I had to, rather than charge off my car battery. But, I don't own a generator....

ben
FWIW, I charge my RC batteries ALL DAY off my car battery and have no problems. Been doing it for years. The car battery can take it unless it's almost dead on it's own. Just my experience. :-)

-jlt
jaket is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 05:39 PM
  #2055  
Tech Champion
 
stavman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Peoria AZ
Posts: 5,333
Default

Originally Posted by Sparky4u View Post
Here is what is happening. The more cords you plug in, daisy chained from one power strip to another to another The more voltage drop you will get. We all use thin extension cords and daisy chain them. The thicker cords should be in line first and as you go down the line use the smaller cords. Electronic equipment like we use is designed to operate between 110-130 volts. Once you drop below 110 V you will have problems like you are experiencing


What

You a FREAKING electrician or something


Yup what HE said
stavman is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:
You have already rated this thread Rating: Thread Rating: 13 votes, 3.00 average.

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.