Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > 3D Printing Forum
Any CNC Enthusiasts? >

Any CNC Enthusiasts?

Like Tree1Likes

Any CNC Enthusiasts?

Old 09-05-2023, 06:29 AM
Tech Apprentice

Default Any CNC Enthusiasts?

I know this is kind of the wrong place to ask but as 3D printing is also CNC, maybe it's okay.

As I have some experience working with industrial scale CNC machines, had some schooling on the topic and have some experience with 3D printing and designing for CAM, I always thought it would be neat to have a small CNC mill/router that is large enough to do a 1:10 TC main chassis plate, and sturdy enough to do brass, alu and carbon and the occasional polymer.

When I look around I either find Chinese 3018/4040 routers or super precision things that cost alotta money and are too fancy for my purposes, with nothing really in between.

Can anyone point me in the direction of a decent brand of hobby-enthusiast grade desktop CNC machines, preferably EU or USA made, that are suitable to make produce parts for a 1:10th TC car?

Cheers,
Olivier
Old 09-05-2023, 08:49 AM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)

Define "alotta money"?
I have a Shapeoko Pro 4XXL, and it gets the job done. They use 15mm wide belts, so that helps a lot. They have since come out with ball screw driven cnc routers, and if I was to buy another one, I'd go with there 2x2 Shapeoko Pro 5.
I'm not a fan of grbl motion controllers, but it gets the job done.
Old 09-05-2023, 10:45 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

I have a StepCraft D600 with the brushless router motor. I have done a bunch of carbon fiber parts - chassis, shock towers, battery holders etc. Also thin aluminum and brass, plexi, plastic sheet. It was a bit of a learning curve, but I had to teach myself CAM at the time as well.

Last edited by belewis01; 09-05-2023 at 05:23 PM. Reason: bad spellin
Old 09-05-2023, 11:03 PM
Tech Apprentice