Wiki Posts
Search

TrackStar Motors: V1 or V2?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-07-2015, 02:09 PM
Tech Adept

Default TrackStar Motors: V1 or V2?

I am currently running a Trackstar 17.5 V1 (red can), that I have been using for two years now. I'm looking at the V2 motor, and I see that the specs are slightly different. They have the same current draw and wattage, but the V1 is listed as 2270KV, and the V2 is 2015KV. Has anyone used these motors back to back, or put them on a dyno to determine which one is actually better?

Even the 17.5 V2 "outlaw" is only 2189KV.
Old 12-08-2015, 01:02 AM
DBM
Tech Fanatic

KV varies based on the timing that the motor is set to, so without knowing the timing that the motors were set to when tested, the KV rating doesn't mean much.
I have a V1 17.5 with 700 packs run through it, and it is still working great. I have had it on a dyno, and it made 10% more torque than my D4 short stack, but 10% lower KV. On a tight carpet track, I'm consistently 0.1s faster with the trackstar than the D4ss. On a bigger track, the D4 is faster. Note: the V1 motor could only be set to a max of 36 degrees timing. It was off the pace with that low amount of timing. I had to modify it to get 44 degrees of timing out of it in order to make it competitive. However, it is no longer roar legal now due to being modified for additional timing.
Two benifits of the V2 over the V1 is that the V2 is lighter by 8g, and the V2 has infinite timing adjustment. The V2 seems to have higher rotor strength, too. I'm not sure if the V2 is of a short stack stator design.
Once the V2 is roar approved, I'll order one and get it on the dyno to see how it compares to my D4ss and V1 trackstar.
Old 01-06-2016, 09:03 AM
Tech Adept

The V2 is ROAR approved now. I'm considering getting one if it's any faster than the V1. Not super concerned about the 8g weight savings.