R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-02-2006, 10:37 PM   #361
Tech Champion
 
dgullickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I'm a Dork Fish
Posts: 7,662
Trader Rating: 45 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to dgullickson Send a message via Yahoo to dgullickson
Default

Axiom is now is the UK with our Distributor Smart Racing. If you are in the UK please support them:

http://www.smartracing.co.uk/

We have just sent them quite a huge inventory of stuff and more to come...
dgullickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 09:43 AM   #362
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 699
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AChupp2
Default

Dave,

I was just about to buy a bushing reamer for my motors but I just read that EddieO doesn't ream bushings. What is your take (or anyone elses) on reaming bushings. I will post what he said. Thanks
__________________
Fantom Racing Team Manager
AChupp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 09:53 AM   #363
Tech Champion
 
dgullickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I'm a Dork Fish
Posts: 7,662
Trader Rating: 45 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to dgullickson Send a message via Yahoo to dgullickson
Default

I agree with EddieO on not doing it and in my opinion its a waste of time.. We dont do it at all.. Your better off just polishing the shaft on the Arm.. A motor that has been broken in properly will have the bushings broken in from normal wear..

I dont suggest it at all. Infact your more than likely to do it wrong and have to replace your bushings which is gonna cost you more money and time.
dgullickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 09:54 AM   #364
Tech Addict
 
acyrier's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 569
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to acyrier
Default reaming

I've only had (1) motor that had the bushings reamed. Did not like it. I used a drill press and jig to make sure it was straight, but it made the hole too large. the arm "vibrated" under certain rpm's and I'm SURE that cause a backlash not allowing the motor to run as it should. I just polish the arm and that's it.
__________________
The products and places I support.
www.michianarc.com www.facebook.com/michianarc - www.russellrc.com
www.teamtekin.com - www.teamcrc.com - www.teamassociated.com
www.fantomracing.com - www.discountrcstore.com
acyrier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 09:57 AM   #365
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 699
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AChupp2
Default

Your wasting your time....don't ream the bushings...I don't do it....

Later EddieO

If yer going to do anything, just polish the arm.....and then lube really well...

We don't polish or ream the bushings anymore....

Why? Reaming isn't something thats EASY....in fact, your 99% more likely to do it incorrectly than to do it right....and even if you do it correctly, I still don't think it does anything worth a crap....

Polishing the bushings would be better in my mind......but it has the fatal flaw, that the bushings are very very pourous, so you can never get all the polishing compound residue out of the bushing....

A properly broke in motor will have the bushings broken in by normal wear.....just make sure they are fully seated in the holes before running the motor the first time.....

As for results.....not a single of the stock titles or tqs in the signature below had the bushings reamed or polished....so if we can do it at a national race against some of the best in the world, I am pretty sure you will be just fine at your local club race or two day event.

Later EddieO



This is what he had to say about the topic. Does anyone replace bushings?
__________________
Fantom Racing Team Manager
AChupp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 10:08 AM   #366
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 699
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AChupp2
Default

How and what are you using to polish the shaft.
__________________
Fantom Racing Team Manager
AChupp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 10:17 AM   #367
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

http://www.motortuningsecrets.com/tunestockmotor.html

Toothpaste works as does Mothers or any other chrome polish...

Be sure and CLEAN it VERY!!!VERY!!!VERY!!!! well after you polish it.
If you don't it will keep polishing the shaft and bushing as you run the motor...

Both will be junk then.
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 10:20 AM   #368
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 1,260
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HenBeav
Default

do you sell just motor tubes i saw them as an option to add to buying motors but didn't see any just individual tubes
HenBeav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 10:38 AM   #369
Tech Champion
 
dgullickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I'm a Dork Fish
Posts: 7,662
Trader Rating: 45 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to dgullickson Send a message via Yahoo to dgullickson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AChupp2
How and what are you using to polish the shaft.

I use Blue Magic.. Or you can get some Jewelers Ruge (not sure I spelled right)
dgullickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 10:40 AM   #370
Tech Champion
 
dgullickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I'm a Dork Fish
Posts: 7,662
Trader Rating: 45 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to dgullickson Send a message via Yahoo to dgullickson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HenBeav
do you sell just motor tubes i saw them as an option to add to buying motors but didn't see any just individual tubes

I started adding that as an option and was playing with the idea as some dont like getting the extra pair of brushes.

I tried ordering 1000 motor tubes and the guy insisted on me getting a sample first - whatever. Anyways got the sample - wow its a tube - and they are on order. Oh and he sends me a pink one for a sample. Any takers
dgullickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 11:13 AM   #371
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 699
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AChupp2
Default

Will you be selling Checkpoint motors
__________________
Fantom Racing Team Manager
AChupp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 11:22 AM   #372
Registered User
 
Hackatack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 141
Default

i like using Brasso it seems to be the easiest and fastest IMO

it seems to wipe clean and havent had any problems with residue in my motors... Allso after just a few passes my bushings look like a mirror you could brush your hair in

good luck
Hackatack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 11:31 AM   #373
Tech Champion
 
dgullickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I'm a Dork Fish
Posts: 7,662
Trader Rating: 45 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to dgullickson Send a message via Yahoo to dgullickson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AChupp2
Will you be selling Checkpoint motors

Working on that.. All I can say at this point
dgullickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 11:34 AM   #374
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 699
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AChupp2
Default

It will be a month or so until I need any motors but I will keep looking and hope you get some
__________________
Fantom Racing Team Manager
AChupp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 11:42 AM   #375
Tech Master
 
Jimmy Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,207
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgullickson
I started adding that as an option and was playing with the idea as some dont like getting the extra pair of brushes.

I tried ordering 1000 motor tubes and the guy insisted on me getting a sample first - whatever. Anyways got the sample - wow its a tube - and they are on order. Oh and he sends me a pink one for a sample. Any takers



YES!!!!
__________________
www.superiorhobbies.com
Jimmy Morris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Axiom Motors ????????? tao3 Electric On-Road 19 07-07-2004 12:20 PM
Axiom Motors??? vtl1180ny Electric On-Road 8 11-03-2003 06:06 PM
Axiom MOTORS NeO-pRo-3 Electric On-Road 17 02-09-2003 10:36 AM
Axiom motors teamAE Web Links 1 10-05-2002 06:45 AM
Axiom Motors:D onaMISSION Web Links 0 08-15-2002 04:16 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:12 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net