R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-23-2012, 10:23 AM   #721
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,352
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcadic View Post
Question guys

I have tekin rs and I want to run 10.5 mod. Is any of you guys have a good tekin set up, I'm using 2012 Xray, on mid traction outdoor asphalt,

Thanks
It would help to know the size of the track.

Hara's 11.5 setup esc wise is a good place to start, aggressive though so watch motor temps while you find the right gearing for your track and layout:

http://teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESCsetu..._11.5_v212.pdf
__________________
Something about winning attracts losers with opinions......

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,SikLidz,ImagineItGraphx, FactoryRC, B-fast, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 05:15 PM   #722
Tech Addict
 
liteweight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 740
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Which 5.0T is it? You don't mention and with what esc?
5.0 reedy sonic , rs pro, low traction outdoor asphalt
Thsnks
__________________
John's Mobile R/C Raceway outdoor racing
"The New Coliseum Carpet Track"
"MRH" Carpet racing
"Xray T3 2012"
liteweight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 02:43 PM   #723
Tech Addict
 
Bigz84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default set up

Randy or any other Team Tekin Driver,
What would be a good starting point for the RX8 esc? I was using an LRP SXX TC, stock set up, 11-12 pinion, in a Losi SCTE, on a 100x60 mid to high bite clay, indoor, currently using a Novak 4.5 motor. Using the LRP, i was lacking a little speed on the straight.

Let me know and thanks for any info...

Bigz
__________________
Radiopost : EA Motorsports : Orca : Reflex Racing/RSD : Wild Turbo Fans : Franchise Racing Products : RCAmerica : Hudy : Xray : Diggity Designs:
Bigz84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 04:07 PM   #724
Tech Fanatic
 
goatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 897
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default speed control and motor issues Help PLease

Hey Tekin
I run a rx8 speedo and a sct4x motor in my losi sct ten
I have run it for 5 or so big races and no issues when at my recent race it started to make a cogging noise and starting and stoping. I took it off and ran it in the next qually and seemed fine and then did it again. Third time it was just flashing first 2 and last 2 lites on the speedo, according to the sheet it means wrong motor? what could be the problem hopefully you guys can help.

"no go in Calgary"
__________________
Larry "Goatman" Blois
Checkout the new ldrcgraphics.net site
"We still do decals but added some new stuff"

TEAM RCDEPOT
goatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 12:20 PM   #725
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,352
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by liteweight View Post
5.0 reedy sonic , rs pro, low traction outdoor asphalt
Thsnks
Start out in sensored only mode, 20 boost, 0 motor timing, 10k start, 35k end rpm...find your gearing while checking lap times and motor temp.
__________________
Something about winning attracts losers with opinions......

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,SikLidz,ImagineItGraphx, FactoryRC, B-fast, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 12:21 PM   #726
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,352
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigz84 View Post
Randy or any other Team Tekin Driver,
What would be a good starting point for the RX8 esc? I was using an LRP SXX TC, stock set up, 11-12 pinion, in a Losi SCTE, on a 100x60 mid to high bite clay, indoor, currently using a Novak 4.5 motor. Using the LRP, i was lacking a little speed on the straight.

Let me know and thanks for any info...

Bigz
Use this SC4x setup on your novak:

http://teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESCsetu...pbell_v223.pdf
__________________
Something about winning attracts losers with opinions......

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,SikLidz,ImagineItGraphx, FactoryRC, B-fast, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 12:23 PM   #727
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,352
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goatman View Post
Hey Tekin
I run a rx8 speedo and a sct4x motor in my losi sct ten
I have run it for 5 or so big races and no issues when at my recent race it started to make a cogging noise and starting and stoping. I took it off and ran it in the next qually and seemed fine and then did it again. Third time it was just flashing first 2 and last 2 lites on the speedo, according to the sheet it means wrong motor? what could be the problem hopefully you guys can help.

"no go in Calgary"
Try another known good motor. If the code is still displayed and you know you're on a brushless motor type, you may need esc repair.
__________________
Something about winning attracts losers with opinions......

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,SikLidz,ImagineItGraphx, FactoryRC, B-fast, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 04:53 AM   #728
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Home
Posts: 85
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

not sure if this is the right place for this. I have a Tekin FXR in a crawler, and it is not working. As soon as I move forward or backward within 2 seconds or so, it stops working. The servo keeps working but I can't move forward or back. I believe all the lights come on, but they are very dim. Is this thing jacked up or am I just being dumb?? And if this is in the wrong place please let me know or move it. Thank you.
mgillooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 09:45 AM   #729
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,032
Default

Dim leds can indicate a BEC load pulling down the voltage. Try to drive it without the servo plugged in. Might also try a different receiver to cover all the bases before it has to be sent in. You can also plug the throttle into the steering channel on the receiver and drive it with wheel to see if it is a bad channel.

All this assumes you are using the BEC and not a seperate BEC unit.
__________________
jcampbell@teamtekin.com
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 03:35 PM   #730
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Home
Posts: 85
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tekin Prez View Post
Dim leds can indicate a BEC load pulling down the voltage. Try to drive it without the servo plugged in. Might also try a different receiver to cover all the bases before it has to be sent in. You can also plug the throttle into the steering channel on the receiver and drive it with wheel to see if it is a bad channel.

All this assumes you are using the BEC and not a seperate BEC unit.
Originally I had a cc bec connected to it, but it was not working so I removed it. I swapped out the receiver as that was my first thought. And even while connected to the steering channel with nothing connected, when I turn the wheel on the transmitter the lights light up with how I am moving but stop after 2 to 5 seconds and nothing else will happen. I wanted to make sure the motor wasn't the problem either so I disconnected it from the esc and same results. And just incase for good measure I connect a hh br xl and it all works fine. This FXR is brand new just installed it, I have one in a different vehicle and it works great so I was surprised when this one did not.
mgillooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 03:52 PM   #731
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,032
Default

Always worth trying to update the software. We are releasing a new software for the FxR shortly. We have been giving out beta software for testing and all looks good.

It may just be broke It happens... and we take care of it best we can
__________________
jcampbell@teamtekin.com
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 04:02 PM   #732
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Home
Posts: 85
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tekin Prez View Post
Always worth trying to update the software. We are releasing a new software for the FxR shortly. We have been giving out beta software for testing and all looks good.

It may just be broke It happens... and we take care of it best we can
I believe it still connects with the tekin hot wire and takes a program, just doesn't make the vehicle move.
mgillooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 03:32 AM   #733
Tech Adept
 
tjompa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 192
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi everyone!

Where can i find Tekin rs pro setups for 1/12 scale 1s lipo 13.5 stock class? Thanks in advance.
tjompa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 11:42 AM   #734
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,352
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjompa View Post
Hi everyone!

Where can i find Tekin rs pro setups for 1/12 scale 1s lipo 13.5 stock class? Thanks in advance.
http://teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESCsetu..._13.5_v212.pdf
__________________
Something about winning attracts losers with opinions......

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,SikLidz,ImagineItGraphx, FactoryRC, B-fast, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 01:13 AM   #735
Tech Adept
 
tjompa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 192
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Randy! This will be tested tomorrow.
tjompa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Tekin New Speedos Drew_Cat Radio and Electronics 1521 10-06-2012 12:35 AM
////TEAM TEKIN FX PRO BRAND NEW///////// Warren Weaver R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 25 06-22-2009 08:21 AM
Team Tekin G11 Pro ESC azgreg R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 05-25-2008 07:12 PM
Factory team T4, Team Tekin new G-10 pro speedo icemandolmite R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-11-2007 05:26 PM
Team Tekin G11 Pro's DustinR R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 01-17-2007 07:38 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:41 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0