R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-23-2009, 12:02 PM   #376
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrxs-r View Post
Ok... here's one for the techies...

Don't laugh.... its old but its good

I bought a new Tekin P12C from one of the local hobby shops that had it lying in the warehouse as 'new old' stock. Got home, wired it up and set the throttle up.... So far so good.... then the problem showed up. On full throttle, the motor runs smooth and even. but on light part throttle the motor stutters like the brakes are getting pulsed on.

I adjusted my throttle EPA back to 100% forward and brake (was on 150%) and gave it another try. The pulsing/stutter is still there, but it occupies a larger part of the trigger movement (now approx 60% of the total movement from neutral; used to be less at 150% EPA).

I thought it might have been the TX/RX combination, so I swapped out the DX3R to a JR R1 w/Spektrum module... Still the same.... Swapped and tried 3 different motors from 27Tstocks to 11x3s. Still the same...

Anyone have any clue as to what is happening? I've been racking my brains and can't seem to figure it out...

Thanks!
I haven't seen this mentioned yet in any of the replies so far... Now it's been a LONG time since I used the P12 series speedos, but I DO remember sometimes getting into a stutter condition with them once in a while. The thing that used to bring it on was setting the current limiter very low in an attempt to get more run time. Check if the current limiter pot is set down low, if so, turn it up full and see if your stutter goes away.

Shot in the dark, but worth a look...
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 11:51 PM   #377
Tech Fanatic
 
jrxs-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 831
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for your replies guys...

I'll go have a play with the frame rates on the DX3R... I vaguely remembered playing around with it, but will confirm.

The torque limiter is on maximum. The stutter occurs even when free revving without a pinion on the motor.
__________________
Cheers,
Zack
___________________________________________________________________________
Proudly Sponsored by Stanbridges Hobbies
Serpent S411
jrxs-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 12:19 PM   #378
Tech Rookie
 
carl72s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Default Mini Rage Hesitates???

I have an RC18t I race on carpet.

1400 Mh battery (Deans connectors)
6900 Kv motor (Tekin)
12T pinion
55T spur
Tires @ 47mm (Foam)
Current limiter OFF
Timing @ 15
Throttle Linear
Drag brake 10

The truck is fast, much faster then same setup using "OTHER" brushless system. Even had a Tekin sponsored driver for the mini class tell me the truck is fast. The only concern is sometime when I squeeze hard on the throttle the truck hesitates for a second. Even if the truck is still rolling say at 1/3 throttle then squeeze hard it'll stumble. This will even happen with no load on truck. I've tried changing the wires on the ESC and I made my own battery pack and used 16 gauge wire and good quality tabs. Have also tried a stock battery. I just can't seem to figure out the problem because it don't do it on every squeeze. Sometimes it'll take off like a rocket, sometimes it don't.
carl72s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 10:34 AM   #379
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,348
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Biggest thing I usually find is that the motor wires aren't sufficient . Make doubly sure that the connections are good and it does help making the motor wires equal length. These motor wires are also the "sensor wires" if you will and having one off from the others isn't optimal.

Also, the less connections the better. If you can direct solder it helps.
__________________
Something about winning attracts losers with opinions......

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,SikLidz,ImagineItGraphx, FactoryRC, B-fast, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 10:38 AM   #380
Tech Addict
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone had a problem with their computer not recognizing the Hotwire being plugged in?

I had installed the software on my netbook, and then plugged in the hotwire, and did not get the "hardware found" message from XP. Tried using my desktop, and got the same result. When plugged in, the first indicator lights up green, and the rest are a barely lit red. Plugging in the RS esc, causes the NW led to light up, although rapidly flashing, and the led on the hotwire flashes as well.
Mac The Knife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 04:53 PM   #381
Tech Addict
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Well, It seems that the case was interfering with the mini usb plug, not allowing it to be fully plugged in...... Thanks goes to Fred B. for spotting that!!
Mac The Knife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 01:52 AM   #382
Tech Master
 
bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,504
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I couldn't find this info elsewhere so I'll ask here - what would be a good starting ratio for a tekin 10.5 motor in a touring car, rubber tyres on a med grip track which is fairly large and has too good length straights?
__________________
Jason W
FIR#2 - "You can't buy this much talent"
Durango Dex410 - Schumacher Cougar SV - Top Photon
bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 02:25 AM   #383
Tech Elite
 
vazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

Team Tekin forums are down
__________________
Gone riding, cya.........
vazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 03:53 AM   #384
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vazzo View Post
Team Tekin forums are down
Yes, as is the home page etc

We hope to get it working asap, hang in there guys!
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 07:10 AM   #385
Tech Master
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to komkit Send a message via AIM to komkit Send a message via Yahoo to komkit
Default

I am try to send the info to Randy to get a copy of the latest software for my hotwire (189).

Any how I kept getting an error from tekin mail server.


This from my work email.
Quote:

Delivery has failed to these recipients or distribution lists:

rpike@mail.teamtekin.com
The recipient's e-mail address is invalid. Microsoft Exchange will not try to redeliver this message for you. Please check the recipient's e-mail address and try resending this message, or provide the following diagnostic text to your system administrator.

rpike@teamtekin.com
The recipient's e-mail address is invalid. Microsoft Exchange will not try to redeliver this message for you. Please check the recipient's e-mail address and try resending this message, or provide the following diagnostic text to your system administrator.

The following organization rejected your message: mail.teamtekin.com, teamtekin.com.


And this from my Yahoo account.
Quote:
<rpike@teamtekin.com>:
No MX or A records for teamtekin.com


<rpike@mail.teamtekin.com>:
No MX or A records for mail.teamtekin.com

Anyone is having a rough time sending an email to Tekin? Perhaps Tekin security information system is setting way too high.
__________________
CFX Paintworks - The Track
komkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 07:45 AM   #386
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Maybe he has you on his blocked list! I can send and receive email from him just fine with my Verizon account.

Quote:
Originally Posted by komkit View Post
I am try to send the info to Randy to get a copy of the latest software for my hotwire (189).

Any how I kept getting an error from tekin mail server.


This from my work email.




And this from my Yahoo account.



Anyone is having a rough time sending an email to Tekin? Perhaps Tekin security information system is setting way too high.
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 08:10 AM   #387
Tech Master
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to komkit Send a message via AIM to komkit Send a message via Yahoo to komkit
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryN View Post
Maybe he has you on his blocked list! I can send and receive email from him just fine with my Verizon account.

When was the last time you tried? I will try it again.
__________________
CFX Paintworks - The Track
komkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 08:46 AM   #388
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by komkit View Post
When was the last time you tried? I will try it again.
Komkit,

PM me your email address. I'll send it to you.
punkboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 08:56 AM   #389
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Western NY
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac The Knife View Post
Has anyone had a problem with their computer not recognizing the Hotwire being plugged in?

I had installed the software on my netbook, and then plugged in the hotwire, and did not get the "hardware found" message from XP. Tried using my desktop, and got the same result. When plugged in, the first indicator lights up green, and the rest are a barely lit red. Plugging in the RS esc, causes the NW led to light up, although rapidly flashing, and the led on the hotwire flashes as well.
I just picked up a hotwire and having a similar issue. At first when I plugged in the hotwire, XP would recognize the hotwire being plugged in. The same lights would light up as what you were getting. After XP was done trying to install the wrong drivers, I would get unknown device messages. I did what the PDF file said to do about this with going into device manager and uninstalling the drivers and then installing them yourself. When I did this, XP would still install the wrong stuff when I plugged in the Hotwire. After a few tries with the same results each time, now when I plug in the Hotwire the computer does not recognize it. I get no green light and only the 5 red lights are lit dimly, even the light on the ESC does not light. I do know that the USB cable it working correctly because I have plugged in my PSP into it and that worked just fine.
rcracer17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 09:16 AM   #390
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by komkit View Post
I am try to send the info to Randy to get a copy of the latest software for my hotwire (189).

Any how I kept getting an error from tekin mail server.


This from my work email.




And this from my Yahoo account.



Anyone is having a rough time sending an email to Tekin? Perhaps Tekin security information system is setting way too high.
if you want to drop me an email, I will forward you on 189 later today!
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Tekin New Speedos Drew_Cat Radio and Electronics 1521 10-06-2012 12:35 AM
////TEAM TEKIN FX PRO BRAND NEW///////// Warren Weaver R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 25 06-22-2009 08:21 AM
Team Tekin G11 Pro ESC azgreg R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 05-25-2008 07:12 PM
Factory team T4, Team Tekin new G-10 pro speedo icemandolmite R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-11-2007 05:26 PM
Team Tekin G11 Pro's DustinR R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 01-17-2007 07:38 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:54 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0