Search

Gear Ratio

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2002, 07:55 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Gear Ratio

To all Racers

im still bit confuse about this gear ratio thing, how do you know which gear ratio to use on which track and whats the difference between the 48 and 64 pitch. Some advice please for a newbie like me

cheers
Old 09-26-2002, 10:09 PM
Tech Master

48pitch gears have bigger teeth, and can take quite a bit of damage from rocks etc. without losing teeth. 64 pitch on the other hand has much finer teeth, but they're more difficult to mesh, and is more damage prone, I know, as a newbie I was chewing up 64p gears! Swapped over to 48 for a while and eased my pocket.

The plus side of 64pitch is it gives a finer array of gear ratios to choose from. The gearing choices with a 48 pitch are lesser.
Old 09-26-2002, 10:18 PM
Tech Master

The gear ratio should be chosen based on both the motor and the track.

For example at RC Speedway with a 23x2, I use a final drive of about 6.4:1 FDR. With a Dyna run (13x2) I run about 8.26:1

Smaller numbers equals a higher gear ratio, giving better top end and less acceleration.

Conversely, a larger number indicates a low gear ratio, giving better acceleration at the expense of top end.

Some people arrange the gearing suchg that the battery pack dumps in 5 minutes. Others gear for the car to hit maximum speed at 1/2 to 3/4 of the length of the longest straight. Gearing can also be decided by the lap time done by the car.

Finally, if you run foam tires, Rollout becomes an issue - as the tire wears down the slower the car becomes - due to reduced tire diameter, so you will need to gear up accordingly.

Rollout can be calculated as (Tire Diameter x PI) / Final Drive Ratio

So for example I run a foam tire which has a Diameter of 64mm, I will get a roll out of (64x3.142) / 8.26 = 23.6mm appox 24mm rollout.