Wiki Posts
Search

Engines

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2006, 11:32 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Engines

hi,

Im new to rc cars and have recently got a tamiya merc c-class dtm 2004 car.

I have seen a bit about tune up parts and wondered what difference they would make to the cars performance such as the ball bearing set, alluminium prop shaft, shock unit cylinders and alluminium racing stering set.

Mainly the engine, it came with a rs-540 engine and wondered if the rs-540 sport tuned engine is faster. Or are there any other engines that would work in there as a few of my friends are starting to get in RC cars as well and we are planning on racing them

Thanks for any advice
Old 01-28-2006, 12:46 PM
Tech Elite

Sorry, I don't know of any electric cars that use an engine.
Old 01-28-2006, 01:06 PM
Tech Master

welcome to the site.
if you are just starting out in rc, this WEBSITE is very informative. unfortunatly, there is so many things in rc to know and there only so much room. also try the "Rookie Zone" section in this forum.
Old 01-28-2006, 01:18 PM
Tech Rookie

well i probably mean motor rather than an engine
Old 01-28-2006, 02:23 PM
Tech Initiate

Yes there are many manufactures (too many too list) that make motors for EP (Electric Powered) Cars and the 540 sports tuned will give you more power than the stock 540.

First thing you should find out is where you are planning on racing (local car park, carpet or with a local RC club...?) before you rush out and buy parts and new motors to make sure there are not any rules or engine classes you should be adhearing too.

Also before you buy any parts make sure they are for your car chassis. Is it a TT-01, TB-02 etc and ensure any hop-ups you buy is for the right chassis.
Old 01-28-2006, 02:27 PM
Tech Initiate