Search

differential tech

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2002, 12:25 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Arrow differential tech

hey guys,
i was just wondering what the hardness of a typical kit diff ring is. also what do some of the aftermarket alloy rings come out to be? i have a mcmaster carr supplier a few minutes from me and i'm looking to find my own rings. i hate rebuilding diffs every few runs. i've now gone from a car with diffs that i never needed to rebuild, to one that may need it every week or two. i don't believe the factory has any upgrades available, nor do any aftermarket manufacturers. hence, my search for better parts.

any help or information would be appreciated. how hard is too hard on the rings, balls?

thanks, seaball.
Old 11-06-2002, 01:07 PM
Tech Regular

what car is that? The diff rings are probably around 45-50 hrc. (Rockwell Hardness scale C) I am probably wrong. If you get ones that are too hard though it may not be good because the diff balls are carbide, which are REALLY REALLY hard. Yet, carbide is easy to chip and break. If they got chipped, your diff would be toast. Softer rings would not chip the balls, yet, they get grooved after a while.
Old 11-06-2002, 03:27 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)

Diff rings are really hard. Almost impossible to drill. They break with a brittle fracture. They really don't need rebuilding every two weeks. Use plenty of diff grease to seal the dirt entry to the diff rings. A ball diff will get rough quickly if it slips. They need to be retightened after a little bit of use.
Old 11-06-2002, 04:19 PM
Tech Elite

Default Ball diffs

The very reason I sold my RC10GT was the constant rebuilding of the diff.
I could never go more than 2 weekends of racing without it getting gritty.
My stepson on the other hand, has a Team Built GT that has months of racing on it and never a diff rebuild.
My HPI Pro3 can go about 3-4 weekends then I just clean and