Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
New to on-road racing >

New to on-road racing

New to on-road racing

Old 08-29-2002, 06:50 PM
Tech Rookie

Talking New to on-road racing

Hello all,

I'm a veteran off road hobbiest, but I recently purchased my first on-road car. On the advice of a friend I bought an Electric TC3 Accord. It arrived last week and as of this morning I am done building/painting. You can check it out below.

The local hobby shop has races every Saturday morning and I plan to go up there and race next week. However, being new to racing a car, I have no idea what to expect. I went up and watched others race but had to leave soon after I got there.

Does anyone have any hints or tips for a first time racer?
Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails New to on-road racing-tc3-accord-paintjob4.jpg  
Old 08-30-2002, 12:32 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Be smooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooth, very very smooth. As far as the car itself, keep the drivetrain free, weight balanced as even as you can left-right, and it's worth taking some time to make everything very equal on the left & right sides (shocks (length, rebound, etc) rideheights, droops, etc, etc...)

Other than that, if you've raced offroad in the past, I'm sure you already know to just talk to the 'fast guys' about what tires, motors, gearing, base setups, etc to run.

And most importantly go out there and have fun!!!
Old 09-01-2002, 06:57 AM
Tech Master

exactly.....and again, try to find someone with a TC3, and see if they will give you their setup. Most people would be happy to help.
Old 09-09-2002, 09:59 PM
Tech Master

Yeah, do something about that antenna wire hangin out the end of your antenna(heat shrink, longer antenna tube, convert to an inside antenna).