Wiki Posts
Search

TOP Photon front spool issues

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2012, 03:37 AM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default TOP Photon front spool issues

Hi all, i had an issue with the original front spool being that mine threaded on the left hand side so it kept slipping, i was looking around and found this

ROCHE - HEAVY DUTY SPOOL SET FOR PHOTON, VERSION 2
i purchased it from ROCHE.hk
(not letting me put in the link due to not enought posts yet)

so i thought i would give it a go, i had to buy a 40T 1 way pulley to suit it aswell, now the parts arrived, i put it all together and all was sweet then i picked it up, turned the car on and accelerated while holding the car mid air, it ran like clockwork until i turned while still accelerating, it sounded like a very bad mesh like something was off balance and the belt also shook a-lot.. im still fairly new to the RC scene so has anyone had experience with this kind of thing before? i tripple checked everything was put together properly, and yes the plastic one i also purchased was working fine. cheers
Dennis.
Old 06-23-2012, 04:41 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)

Congratulations on getting the car. We'll help you out however we can. Assuming the spool was built and installed correctly, the chatter you are getting is normal when turning the wheels with no load on the tires. This effect is greatly reduced when the car is on the ground. You will see lots of people running ECS style driveshafts to eliminate it but it's not neccessary and currently it's a little expensive to do the conversion to ECS. Have fun with the car.
Old 06-23-2012, 04:48 PM
Tech Apprentice