Community
Wiki Posts
Search

ECX Torment Spur/Pinion Pitch Question

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2012, 09:24 PM
Tech Initiate

Default ECX Torment Spur/Pinion Pitch Question

The Stock 20T Pinion Gear (ECX3018) is listed on the Horizon site as having pitch of "1.5 Module"...the Stock 87T Spur Gear (ECX1076) is listed as having "48 Pitch". Are they the same?

I'm new to r/c and was told it was very important that the pitch for the spur gear and pinion gear be the same, when I change them.

Thank you for your time and assistance.
Old 03-29-2012, 11:34 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

From a quick search online, I think your car is 48p (48 pitch). Mod is different, and the two wouldn't work together.

If you take a look at what is already on your vehicle, then you should see a marking such as 48p 60t where 48p is the pitch and 60t is how many teeth are on the gear. Order whatever you're going to in a matching pitch (or matching mod if you have mod gears), but feel free to play with the number of teeth to change your speed vs torque.
Old 03-30-2012, 02:48 PM
Tech Regular

mod1 and 48P are similar and will work together, but a proper 48P pinion would be best for efficiency and longevity.
Old 03-30-2012, 04:17 PM
Tech Elite

Originally Posted by BandS
The Stock 20T Pinion Gear (ECX3018) is listed on the Horizon site as having pitch of "1.5 Module"...the Stock 87T Spur Gear (ECX1076) is listed as having "48 Pitch". Are they the same?

I'm new to r/c and was told it was very important that the pitch for the spur gear and pinion gear be the same, when I change them.

Bands, there's documentation online that shows how to calculate and determine the "module" of a cog.
http://www.khkgears.co.jp/en/gear_te...pdf/module.pdf
Old 03-30-2012, 06:18 PM
Tech Champion

Originally Posted by BigRM
mod1 and 48P are similar and will work together, but a proper 48P pinion would be best for efficiency and longevity.