Wiki Posts
Search

Novak Fusion, motor always runs full speed

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2005, 05:37 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Novak Fusion, motor always runs full speed

Howdy,

I'm pretty new with electric racing; and I have a problem getting my new car set up.

I have a Novak Fusion ESC, a stock motor, and a JR R135 reveiver. I've connected the motor directly to the motor leads from the ESC with some solder, and I put a Deens connector on the battery lead.

I connect the steering servo to the steering position, and the throttle to the throttle position on the receiver.

When I connect the battery, the motor spins at full speed, whether or not the Fusion's switch is on or off. If the switch is off, the light on the ESC won't turn on, if it's on, the light is solid red.

I'm really not sure what's going on here. What could cause this to happen? I've reset my transmitter, and I've tried putting the servo/ESC in different positions on the receiver. It still does the same thing.

The receiver works fine by itself with a normal receiver battery pack, so I don't think it's that.

I'm not a complete R/C newbie; I've been racing 1/8 buggy for awhile, so any information you might be able to offer would help.

Thanks in advance.
Old 01-09-2005, 05:45 PM
Tech Master

Have you setup the ESC?
Old 01-09-2005, 06:29 PM
Tech Rookie

No.

Reading the Fusion manual I just downloaded, it said to hold down the button until the light goes solid red. THe light was already solid red, so I held down the throttle like the instructions said to. In doing so, the motor spun down slightly but then spun back up and the light turned off.

I think the ESC may have burned out. I can't make the light turn on anymore. I disconnected the motor, and it's still not responding. I don't believe I hooked it up wrong; there's only a few wires.