Search

New to this hobby.

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2005, 08:46 AM
Tech Regular

Default New to this hobby.

Hi all,

Am from Singapore here.

Have a keen interest in this hobby esp on-road racing.

Well, i`ve got a problem here, hope that i can seek some advice here.

Have been scouting and asking around about which car should i get as i`m a total newbie to this sport.

Maybe i have been asking around the wrong places. Because, i have actually checked with 2 shops.

1 adviced me to buy Kyosho single R. Said it would be a good one to start with as i have not handled a R/C car before.

Just today i went to another shop looking for the adviced Single R Kyosho, was then adviced not to pick that car up as it is a very old model and that finding the spare parts would be a hassel as well as costly. adviced me on taking the V one S || or the FW05 S or R. can`t remember which is it. was adviced that a starter kit would be good for a start instead of a pro kit.

They both come with a pull start engine, whereas the Single R comes with an engine that doesn`t have a pull start. Needs a Box to get it started. Have heard that ``pull start`` engines lose out quite abit in performance. is this true?

Sorry for this very long message full of questions.

Could anyone help pls?

Thanks alot for your time.

Cheers!!!!
Old 01-09-2005, 09:19 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

My suggestion: try to pickup a second hand V1RR or V1RR EVO since lots people might sell them because V1RRR released. They are better chassis than V1S and will give u a better feadback on how your skill growth.