Like Tree2Likes

Rubber tires for dummies

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2005, 01:00 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Unhappy Rubber tires for dummies

Hey,

I know nothing-NAAAHTING about rubber tires so I was hoping for a little help here at my favorite info joint-RCTech!!. I suppose I am not the only one ignorant in the way of the mysterious round back rubbery things-so anyone else post your questions here!!! I need to learn about inserts, insert shape, airgap and offsets and all that stuff a foam tire guy wouldnt know and has zero ability to try on a track. I'll make this easy to start with a few specific questions.

1-On Ozite-which has more grip-soft or hard insert. Is it more side bite-forward traction or both?

2-Air-gap-how do you use it to your advantage on Ozite? How do you increase or decrease it.

3-Concerning air-gap-what do you feel on the track that tells you you need more or less?

I am just getting started!! Thanks for any help!!

Ray
Old 01-05-2005, 01:11 PM
Tech Fanatic

Ditto on all of Ray's questions. I usually run foams as well but would like to start trying to figure out a good rubber tire setup.
Old 01-05-2005, 01:17 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

Ray on rubber...... thats scary! lol I run rubber tires on carpet ALOT so I think I can help.

1.) Generally when the traction is super high, people will use a harder insert to help support the tire better. It decrease forwards bite and side bite. Usually try to run as hard as insert you can and still have the overall bite you need.