Community
Wiki Posts
Search

sc8 with .21???

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2011, 09:38 PM
Tech Rookie

Default sc8 with .21???

hi,Im very new with this hobby, I want to seek advice from you guys out there. Im half a gallon now with my sc8(bashing only) I only getting 12minutes a tank.I want to change my pro .28 engine to .21 but I dont know what to do. anybody done this on SC8 already? please post a step by step tutorial and what parts needed for the conversion.thank you very much.
Old 06-16-2011, 11:51 PM
Tech Champion

A good 21 is plenty powerful for an SC8 - will actually be faster than with the stock engine cuz a good 21 will rev a lot higher. Try a Werks B5 or Alpha A852, Go GXII 5-port, Jammin JPX-21, etc..

All you need is the engine, a good pipe for it, and a starter box with batteries.. All there is to it..

The Alpha .23 would probably be neat too.. Tons of engine options..
Old 06-17-2011, 11:13 PM
Tech Rookie

Originally Posted by Herrsavage
A good 21 is plenty powerful for an SC8 - will actually be faster than with the stock engine cuz a good 21 will rev a lot higher. Try a Werks B5 or Alpha A852, Go GXII 5-port, Jammin JPX-21, etc..

All you need is the engine, a good pipe for it, and a starter box with batteries.. All there is to it..

hi, thanks! How about the engine mounts,the flywheel? do i need to buy a new engine mount? thanks
Old 06-17-2011, 11:46 PM
Tech Champion

No, it's the same mount as in the RC8B and RC8T... (pretty sure..) No mods necessary really.. I never even ran the stock engine, but went straight to bumpstart engines.., and there were no issues afaicr..
Old 06-18-2011, 05:24 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Herrsavage

I called Ofna/Picco the other to ask them a question about my jpx .28,it and the jpx .21 are discontinued.
Old 06-18-2011, 08:52 AM
Tech Champion

Shame.. Don't know what's up with Picco.. Seem to not care about off-road anymore..