Community
Wiki Posts
Search

how to install a centax clutch

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2004, 07:32 PM
Tech Adept

Default how to install a centax clutch

i was wondering if anyone can help me. i just got a v one r and just purchased a centax clutch for the car. i just started playing with nitro for about 6-8 months. i have a hpi super nitro rally. i want to kno if anyone can teach me how to install it. im a newb =(
Old 09-21-2004, 07:40 PM
Tech Rookie

As long as you follow the manufacturer's directions, and pay CLOSE attention to appropriate shimming of the clutchbell, your car will be a rocket out of the hole. Go to rc car action's website, they have a good article on centax clutches. You can also do a google search for: "centax clutch install" , that's what I did.
Old 09-21-2004, 07:46 PM
Tech Rookie

http://www.mytsn.com/publ/publ.asp?pid=10534

the above link has some good info, and color diagrams...
Old 09-21-2004, 08:23 PM
Tech Addict

one thing to note is the direction of the thrust bearing. the two "shields" have different inner diameters. the smaller diameter shield should be on the outside/away from engine while the slightly larger diameter one should be inside/towards the engine.

and before you think i'm crazy, you can double check with a good pair of caliper/micrometer and you'll see there is a slight difference. g'luck.
Old 09-21-2004, 08:26 PM
Tech Adept

the bad thing is that i got this second handed. it didnt come with manual. i can refer to the site u gave me. thanks man
Old 09-22-2004, 12:51 AM
Tech Fanatic

Default crazy!