Wiki Posts
Search

Rear suspension setup help

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2011, 06:45 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Rear suspension setup help

Hi guys. I participated in my first on road race yesterday, and am happy to say i had an absolute blast!

One slight problem though. The car was great at the start of the race, but towards the end the back end would be come loose. Both under breaks and on power through the slower corners, after a long and a small straight.

When i got the car home, and took off the wheels (i was using pre-glued sorex 36r with the schumacher wheels they come on) both rear wheels had this:

Right Rear

Left Rear

what can I change to prevent this?
Old 04-03-2011, 08:16 PM
KoE
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

i'm not an expert but it seems to me that your wheels were scrubbing against something; loose hingepin? grub screw?
Old 04-04-2011, 02:36 AM
Tech Addict

Heres what they are rubbing against, any ideas on how to stop it?

Old 04-04-2011, 02:53 AM
Tech Master

Looks like it could b hitting the top of the ballcup. I would suggest using open faced ballcups like the ones for the team losi type r sedan. When I had a schumacher back in the day the ballstuds were bigger than losi and associated so u migjt have to get different ballstuds also.
Old 04-04-2011, 03:32 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

you might be able to shave a bit of material off the top of the ball cup. doesn't look like it would take much to stop the ballcup from touching. with the two rings on your rims, your ball cup might have been getting stuck in those two grooves momentarily and causing some weird handling.
Old 04-04-2011, 04:24 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

Attach the wheel and visually confirm where they are rubbing when they spin.

I may be wrong but doesn't look like the ball cup is very scratched up.