Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Aluminum Servo Horns >

Aluminum Servo Horns

Aluminum Servo Horns

Old 03-07-2011, 11:14 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default Aluminum Servo Horns

It seems like every kit people buy needs an aluminum steering servo horn. I always see people upgrading that part first. I am the same way.

Why in the world don't manufacturers just include this part in the kit?!?!

I understand from a business standpoint it's extra revenue, but it seems like the kits actually NEED this part to be functional. What are your thoughts?
Old 03-07-2011, 11:22 AM
Tech Regular

Im not exactly sure why the aluminium servohorn hysteria even started.
Ive been racing since 1998 and Ive never used an aluminium servohorn and Ive never stripped a servohorn either.
If you have a standard servohorn with an aluminium ring it should be sufficient, and if it isnt Id rather have it strip the horn than bust the servo.
Although Im guessing Im fairly alone thinking like that.
Old 03-07-2011, 11:42 AM
Tech Adept

Originally Posted by Lilja
Im not exactly sure why the aluminium servohorn hysteria even started.
Ive been racing since 1998 and Ive never used an aluminium servohorn and Ive never stripped a servohorn either.
If you have a standard servohorn with an aluminium ring it should be sufficient, and if it isnt Id rather have it strip the horn than bust the servo.
Although Im guessing Im fairly alone thinking like that.
+1, I've never used aluminium horns as well.
Old 03-07-2011, 11:45 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

Originally Posted by boomgagem
It seems like every kit people buy needs an aluminum steering servo horn. I always see people upgrading that part first. I am the same way.

I understand from a business standpoint it's extra revenue, but it seems like the kits actually NEED this part to be functional. What are your thoughts?