Wiki Posts
Search

new to the hobby

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2011, 02:49 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default new to the hobby

OK, I am still new to the hobby despite having a nitro rc for quite some time now. Here is my story...

1. about a year ago I got interested in this hobby
2. around the beginning of September of 2010 I started looking for used R/C nitros on this forum
3. around the third week of September I saw a RC10GT w/ a O.S. .15 advertised to be in great condition with the engine having less than 3/4 gallons through it with a transmitter for $135 plus shipping
4. bought and paid through PayPal
5. received around the first of October
6. when I had some time two weeks later I took it to my local hobby shop
7. the guy at the hobby shop told me that the hub pin needed to be replaced
8. ordered the pin
9. two weeks later I came back and installed the part
10. I bought fuel and put it in the tank
11. found that there was a leak in the fuel tank and could not get the engine to start
12. next week I went back to the hobby shop and ordered a new fuel tank
13. a week later I went and picked the fuel tank and installed it that night
14. I tried to start the engine and fuel came flying out the sides of it when I pulled the pullstart
15. a week later the guy at the hobby store had the same experience and told me that it was not the same engine as advertised and that the sleeve and piston were all screwed up and that the head was not securely held on by stripped screws
16. bought a brand new O.S. 15CV-X and paid the hobby store to install it
17. he got it running 2 weeks later and did the first tank of break-in for me but also told me that the transmitter was glitchy
18. he was kind enough to give me a spare one that was laying around
19. said thank you and took it home
20. broke it in with five tanks 1/4 throttle 1/4 - 1/2 throttle 1/2 - 3/4 throttle 3/4 throttle with no problem