Wiki Posts
Search

Not oiling your balls......

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2004, 02:49 AM
Tech Master

Default Not oiling your balls......

Ball bearings that is.

Ok so I'm new to on-road but have noticed somethings haven't changed from when I raced off-road, that being flushing out the grease in bearings and lightly oiling them.

But I'm wondering if I can get away with what I used to do in 2wd off-road which was to flush them out and clean them after every race meeting (using motor cleaner) and not bothering with any oil in internal bearings.

The car was always quick enough and quiet enough and I don't recall ever having to replace any bearings looked after this way, in fact the only ones that did get replaced were ones that were oiled such as the wheel bearings.

Now considering on-road is a lot cleaner I'm wondering if anyone runs their bearings dry, because on the bench at least the drive train has a lot less drag even when compared to very lightly oiled?

I should add that the cars I used this way were never put under the stresses of a mod motor as I always raced 540 silver can motors.
Old 08-15-2004, 03:39 AM
Tech Regular

lol I like the title

If it was me... I would just put a tiny bit of light oil in them. This will prevent wear and also allow them to run a little smoother. even if it gives you a little extra drag I dont think it will make much difference.
Old 08-15-2004, 03:53 AM
Tech Regular

I think not oiliing them makes them free'er off load ( the word free'er gets used so much in RC, is it even in the dictionary? ) but on load arent as good as bearing which have a bit or oil, more efficency on load..

I THINK
Old 08-15-2004, 04:42 AM
Tech Regular