Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New XRAY T1 FC, now what do I use to move it??? >

New XRAY T1 FC, now what do I use to move it???

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

New XRAY T1 FC, now what do I use to move it???

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2004, 10:44 PM
Tech Adept

Default New XRAY T1 FC, now what do I use to move it???

I'm new to this hobby, or way of life. I'm not sure of what motor I should purchase. There's a bunch of different terms I need to look up, but I would appreciate so "GUIDANCE" on what company makes a good motor for this car. Remember, I'm a newbie so if you use any RC terms, please explain.
Old 08-11-2004, 10:55 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

Man , a t1 factory kit? That's a little high-end for a beginner. You're probably best off starting with some type of stock motor, like a p2k2. If you want some speed, go with a cheap machine wound modified. In any case, take some time assembling that kit, as xray parts are a little pricier to replace.
Old 08-11-2004, 11:24 PM
Tech Elite

You might want to consider going with the Xray plastic tub first to get to know the car. It's very durable and can take a beating as you grow and learn the car. When you feel you are ready, switch over to the graphite plate.
Old 08-11-2004, 11:44 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

Do you plan on racing?? If so stop by the track and see what classes they have, usually it will be a stock (27turns of 24guage wire in a non adjustable motor can set at 24 degrees of timing) 19T spec (19turns of 24guage wire in a non adjustable motor can set at 24 degrees of timing),or open mod (turns vary, timing is adjustable)..... If you are just playing then I personally suggest a 17T machine wound modified motor and leave it just as you get it, install it and have fun....however if your just playing you may have found the wrong car as the Xray T1 FK is a full blown racecar..... sorta like a top fuel dragster just to go to the grocery store.....LOL