Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Considering Nitro

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2010, 10:17 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Considering Nitro

I am brand new to RC cars and I'm considering a nitro. I have no plans for racing, I'm just a go to the parking lot and have fun type. My only concern with nitro over electric is the sound level. With a good muffler can the sound be kept down to where the locals won't be calling the police due to the noise level? I would love not to be charging a battery all the time. I have no idea how loud the cars are. Thanks
Old 08-22-2010, 12:44 PM
Tech Addict

A Nitro R/C is obviously louder than an electric car, but I run mine often around my neighborhood and nobody complains at all. When you're inside and not paying attention, you often don't even notice that someone is running a Nitro car. I wouldn't worry about that aspect of it. Remember that a Nitro car also runs on a battery. You have a receiver battery pack that allows the receiver in the car to accept the radio signal and the batteries in your handheld radio that send the signal to the car. So you still need batteries and charger etc as well as fuel, after run oil, air filter oil etc. (maintenance items)